Sunday Post 33: Enjoying my Girls, one at a time

I truly enjoy my kids.  Each of them brings laughter and joy into my life on a daily, sometimes hourly, basis.

One of the things I strive to do each week is have some time that I spend one-on-one with each of them.  Recently, Michelle and I have been jogging together.  She came home with a get active calendar from her physical education class at school (Go Mr. Lyons!)  She’s now pushing my old, raggedy kneed self to hit the pavement.  Although I have more stamina than she does, she can flat sprint circles around me.  And she’s 8! 

Today we had a conversation about boyfriends and girlfriends and the fact that just because you sat near a boy at lunch or talked to a guy didn’t mean he was your boyfriend (i.e. Dad stop teasing me about my male buddies at school). 

Stephanie and I are snuggling buddies.  If we’re both home in the evenings, we’re gonna find at least 10 minutes for cuddling.  Both of us need that physical closeness.  There are times I think she could just crawl inside of me – and me her for that matter.

DJ and I typically connect 15 or 20 minutes before she hits the sack for the night.  She’s getting old enough that we can really talk about interesting and funny subjects.  Sometimes we’ll start cracking on Jesse or laughing about something one of the younger girls said that day and nearly fall of the bed.  It’s the deep down belly sort of laughing – the kind that makes your soul feel good.

Wherever my daughters land on this planet, I do hope that we’ll find time to connect.  And not just with a crowd of family and friends around.  I hope I’ll have the ability to seek them out, and that they’ll have the desire to connect with me.  And that we’ll jog, or snuggle or laugh our butts off into perpetuity!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I can understand that desire to stay connected. It’s one of God’s greatest gifts. And that gift spreads to daughter-in-laws too. I am grateful for the gift of my grown children. They, too, bring tons of joy to my life. You will surely have that gift. You have put in the time.

    Reply
  2. Wren

     /  September 4, 2011

    Lovely, and so sweet of you to share!! W&R

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6,350 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,350 other followers