Tea and Boots

No!

 

No!

Yes!

Posted by Danny

I get a lot of emails.  I enjoy the ones from friends – making plans or sharing news.  And most of the ones at work are important enough to read.  But bulk emails from school, dance, church, sports teams, etc., etc. get me down. 

The volume of information coming at me is sometimes overwhelming.  There are so many things to read and each is so very…very long. 

I am amazed at how many sentences it takes to remind me to send money to school.  Don’t wish me a good day or tell me the kids’ activities for the week.  Just tell me what I need to do:  Bruce, Send $10 on Wednesday.  I will obey.

I don’t care what it’s for – the teacher can use it to buy a farm animal for her great-aunt.  No explanation needed.  Just get to the chase!  

DJ is in a a mother/daughter service club.  It’s a great organization that does incredible work throughout the community.  This group has a weekly email that gives the details for the upcoming activities – it is fairly short and to the point.  But recently the 9th grade class was responsible for putting on a tea.  And the reminder came out two days before the important event.

Email 1:  Details, details, details…and remember, you can’t wear boots to the tea.

Email 2 (from a mother responding to all):  You can wear boots to the tea.

Email 3 (from another mother responding to all):  No, you can’t wear boots.

Email 4 (you get the picture):  Yes – you can wear boots to the tea but they have to be dress boots.  You can’t wear Uggs or riding boots.

Email 5:  No – no boots. 

Email 6:  Anyone can wear boots but the 9th graders – they are hosting the tea and cannot wear boots.  And they aren’t allowed to eat.

Who hosts a party and doesn’t eat?

Email 7:  We talked about this for 15 minutes at the last meeting.  You can wear dress boots.

Email 8:  Attachment: The bylaws of the organization (I did not read them but there must be something in there about boots and teas).

I deleted Emails 9, 10 and 11 before reading them because I had to go pick up the kids. 

Fortunately, the boot situation was not an issue for us.  DJ has at least one pair of shoes that are not boots.  That must not be the case for some of the other girls.

My sister-in-law was taking DJ to the tea.  It took me 30 minutes to explain to her what shoes she could wear.  I made her come by our house before the event to ensure that she didn’t try to sneak in with a pair of rain boots (they weren’t specifically singled out).  I could see Aunt Sallie trying to push the envelope.  She wore heels.  I was relieved.

I actually understand the No Ugg policy.  My girls would wear them to a Nascar race or to the Royal wedding.  They have no Ugg filter.  These women are just trying to teach some manners – and lord knows I need help with that. 

But I was convinced with the first email…

Email 1:  No boots…

My response:  OK…

Apparently the party was grand, and they did get to eat – but just in the kitchen.  Probably a good idea.  I could see my girls sipping punch out of the ladle.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. They say nothing about steel-toed boots. I am so there.

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  February 8, 2012

    It seems to me that you are going to have to retire so that you can have enough time to read the emails about the girls’ school and activity requirements. Better still, hire a secretary. Seems like that job deserves paid vacations and insurance coverage. Sounds like a big job to me.

    Reply
  3. Wayne

     /  February 8, 2012

    It’s about time you learned what is important in life. The world would have been much safer if people like Hitler hadn’t worn boots. Had he had on a pair of slippers he wouldn’t have been such a grouch and caused so much trouble. If Lucrezia Borgia had had on her Jimmy Choos, she would have been too busy “stylin” to be killing on all those people. Get with the program, man. Dad

    Reply
  4. Jean

     /  February 8, 2012

    LOL @ your dad! This explains a lot!

    Reply
  5. Aunt Susan

     /  February 8, 2012

    Your dad is rather out of it, Lucrezia would have worn Manolo Blanicks. Your mom has a good idea, can I apply for the job? it does include trips right? and kudos to you for discovering Aunt Sallie actually owns shoes, I was afraid she only had boots for legs!, I was a little concerned about Kensey!
    Where are our pix of the formal????????

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  February 8, 2012

      working on a pic of the infamous dress next week! I ain’t showing pics of the boys.

      Reply
  6. April

     /  February 9, 2012

    But the boys’ pictures are important! Have to see if they are as beautiful as she is – remember to check teeth. If you have to put braces on your girls’ teeth, always be sure the boys they are interested in have good teeth!
    April

    Reply
  7. Tea, boots/shoes and teeth?! I’ll just have milk. Milk and cookies, in my jammies and slippers then it is bed time.

    Reply
  8. Definitely believe that that you stated.
    Your favourite reason appeared to be on the web the easiest
    factor to remember of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst other folks
    think about concerns that they plainly do not recognise about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out the entire thing with
    no need side effect , other folks could take a signal.
    Will probably be again to get more. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8,375 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,375 other followers