Sunday Post 147: A Cursing Christian

A friend recently shared a blog post by John Shore entitled The Comfortably Cussing Christian.  I can’t say I agree with everything on his blog site, but I do like this post.

He says that not cursing made his whole upper body feel constipated.  I fully understand where he’s coming from.

I don’t think I cuss a lot, but at times, my more colorful personality is dependent on a damn or hell to emphasize my passion.  When my dad, a Baptist minister, first read my book, he implored me to remove some of the foul language, “Remember your audience,” he reminded me.  At the time I wrote the book, I was pretty pissed off at God.  That’s typically what brings out the most colorful parts of my  vocabulary.

I didn’t really think I’d used that many bad words in my writing, so I did a word search in the 254 page document.  I actually found:

32 Damns

27 Hells

4 of the “s” word

5 Words that start with B

1 GD

And… yea, one of those really bad words too.

To be fair to myself, the GD was actually in my journal – and I just copied that.  So I didn’t actually write it in my book.  I just quoted it from another source…

I painstakingly went through each sentence with a curse word and evaluated its relevance to the story.  My dad was right.  I’d originally overused profanity.  I ended up cutting out about a quarter of my original foul mouthedness, and the book was better for it.

But sometimes the word “rump” just can’t replace a good “ass.”

“Get off your rump and get to work!”

Won’t do – it’s got to be ass (my favorite cuss word by the way).

I replaced the really, really bad word with “#@%&.”  I figured that folks could fill in the symbols with the word of their own choosing.  I’m sure my mother went with rats.  Dear Miss Louisa at church, who said she loved my book, probably chose nuts.  My buddies Dave, Brad, Gordon, and Jeff all knew exactly what to insert in that space.  Heck, they’re probably the ones who taught me that word!

Sometimes I worry that some Christians might judge this Christian by the unsightly words I used in my book.  Some might even question my faith and commitment to God.

Nah – I guess that wouldn’t happen; Christians don’t judge.  Do they?

Purchase Danny’s Book:  Laughter, Tears and Braids or at Quail Ridge Books in Raleigh

(If you read the book, please take a moment and write a review on Amazon.  My publisher wants me to hit 50 and we’re currently at 40.  Helps with rankings or something.  Thank you!)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. There was a study that concluded cursing was good for health. So, #&@$/+.

    Reply
  2. Well said Bruce! I read your book, and the words you used were appropriate for the situation! I appreciated your honesty, and those genuine parts will definitely help others going through a period of deep loss and grief. No, it is not a book meant for children, but you actually state that up front. This book was written for your girls, when they are grown.

    What big thing that I got from your book was how much you loved your wife, and your family, how incredibly human you are by telling the truth about your emotions, but also how strong your faith was and continues to be.

    Reply
  3. Kelley Finley

     /  December 8, 2013

    I know some good Christians that have made “UN-God” like decisions in their line of work. I know some good Christians that have lied to a spouse or family member. I know some good Christians that have made awful comments about others they didnt even know. I know some good Chirstians that have had a drink while driving. I know some good Christians that have “fabricated” a story or two for the benefit of their child or themselves. I know some good Christians that have cheated on a test. I know some good Christians that have cheated on their loved one (not any of my close friends…..but the friend of a friend kind of thing). So…..I would not feel badly about a few bad words that flew out of your mouth at times when those bad words helped to put more emphasis on what you were trying to say at that moment.

    Sometimes, the slip of the tongue just helps to get your point across. I’m just saying. And yes, those sweet little ladies from church probably do not appreciate those choice of words. In your next book, maybe you could write a note of apology in the prologue or place a warning label on the front page. Better yet, give it a rating like movies. Pg-13…contains some adult language.

    Reply
  4. Well said Bruce! I read your book. The honesty will help so many struggling with grief and loss. No, your book was not written for children, but for your grown children, as you state in the first few pages.

    By reading your book, I learned how very much you love your wife and your family, how incredibly human you are, but also how strong your faith was, and still is!

    Reply
  5. Wayne

     /  December 9, 2013

    I hate to be a smart~ass but you’ll have to admit it was a half-ass idea to use that many dumb-ass words! Dad

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  December 9, 2013

    Gotta love a Dad who can say I told you so, without saying I told you so!

    Reply
  7. My grandma uses “corn” as her curse word of choice. I typically go with “fudge monkey.” Not sure why, but that’s what always comes out when I’m in need of a good curse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8,133 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,133 other followers