Sunday Post 148: Christians Unite

Aren’t we supposed to be on the same side?

I grow so weary of Christians attacking each other.  I grow so weary of disagreements on issues driving us to question each other’s commitment to Christ and in some cases leading us to question someone else’s faith altogether.

How could we possibly determine whether someone is a Christian simply because of his political affiliation?  How could we imply that we love God more because we stand on one side of a single issue?

Yeah, there are those who believe that it’s not possible to lead a Christlike life if you’re not exuberant about paying significant taxes to support those who haven’t been born with as many earthly blessings as you.  And, there are those who condemn someone to hell if they support gay marriage or the pro-choice agenda.

I get it!  I have passionate views as well.  But I wouldn’t question someone’s personal relationship with Christ because they don’t fully agree with Danny Tanner’s social and political views.  I might argue with them; I might wonder why they believe what they do; but that’s as far as I’d go.

I don’t like Fettuccini Alfredo.  Does that mean I don’t like Italian food?  It does not!  I just don’t particularly like that white goopy sauce.  Do I think you’re ignorant because you do?  No.  I think you have different taste buds.  If I’m splitting dinner with you, I’m going to try to pursuade you to order something else.  But I won’t question your commitment to the Italian food cause.

An athiest who reads this blog once commented that if every Christian talked about their faith as I do that maybe she’d be more interested in learning more.  That made me feel pretty good!

I’d rather see a sermon than to hear one any day.  How could someone who doesn’t believe in God have any interest whatsoever in learning more while watching us condemn each other?  It is so NOT what Christ would do.

Let’s celebrate Christmas by doing what He would want us to do.  Go find a Christian you don’t agree with – and give him a hug, and begin acting out your faith with those who are actually on your side.  Once we get that down, we can reach out to those who have no understanding at all.

Purchase Danny’s Book Laughter, Tears and BraidsAmazon or Quail Ridge Books in Raleigh

If you have read the book and are willing to write a short review, it would be helpful:  Click here.  And thanks!

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Great words! Love John 13:35

    Reply
  2. katebortell

     /  December 15, 2013

    I completely agree with you. I would be a happy person if i never heard one more argument over faith alone and faith with works. Can we seriously get past this??????????
    Kate

    Reply
  3. Hey! I’m that atheist (well, technically an agnostic). And I’m flattered that my comment stuck with you!

    Loved this post as well.

    You know who else has made me more interested in religion this year? And I’m shocked to be typing this, but it is true. The Pope. Man, he is making being a Christian looking good. If he could address the patriarchy issues I might be able to get on board! But I could not take my boys to any church service in which they were taught they were of more value because they could be priests while women could not simply based on their genetalia.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  December 15, 2013

      Yeah, the whole woman issues is one that some Christians struggle with. YOu need to attend my church – there is no submissiviness discussed and women are preaching, and doing a good job I might add!

      Reply
      • The 10 hour one way commute would make that a little prohibitive…A Presbyterian church my family attended in the 80s (we moved a lot so there were many churches) had a female Reverend? Pastor? As a young girl that was pretty cool to see.

  4. Very well written and expressed! You have summed it up all very well. We all are on a different path and we all have a different relationship with God.

    Reply
  5. Jean B

     /  December 15, 2013

    Preach on. I agree with you completely. Jesus was much better at forgiving than many of us who are Christians.

    Reply
  6. Anna Jackson

     /  December 15, 2013

    Yes! Let the hugging commence!

    Reply
  7. Miriam

     /  December 15, 2013

    I agree. I’m a very different type of Christian from my parents, but I don’t think my faith is any less legitimate. It would be nice if there were more tolerance, but I think it is just not going to happen with many Christians- their dogma is so much a part of their belief system.

    Reply
  8. Very well said! During the political season last year, a so-called friend told me I wasn’t Christian. Apparently, I didn’t match up to his idealogies.

    Jesus died for our sins, taught us the beauty of unconditional love, tolerance, and grace. He loved all, walked with all… I try to follow those footsteps. I told my friend I would welcome him into my arms with an open heart even if we disagreed. He just went on a rheotric rampage and no longer speaks to me. Reckon, he wasn’t really a friend.

    As an aside, a pastor once told me I had a servants heart… I shared this with my friend… he says Gandhi had a servant’s heart and he wasn’t Christian. Huh? Reckon a servant’s heart isn’t a good thing either?

    Oh well… can’t figure everyone out can we? We can just live as positiviely as possible, with a smile, and spreading love, joy, and grace along our paths.

    Reply
  9. Oh… don’t think I didn’t want to! In my earlier years, I would have done just that… I was quite the little fighter. Now…I have learned restraint and just how HARD that is.

    Thank you for your comment, I have to say it made me smile! :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8,133 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,133 other followers