Sunday Post 156: The Right Place at the Right Time

My mom and dad walk at the mall almost every day of the week. I used to think that odd – but the older I get the less tolerance I have for being cold, and at this time of year, walking outside ain’t an option for me!

At the mall this week, my mom noticed a woman who was crying. Had I seen her, I would have thought she was crazy and taken a wide berth. Or even if I didn’t jump to the loony conclusion, I would have assumed she wanted to be alone if she was blubbering.

Not Jean. She asked the woman if she needed help.

When she did, the woman let out a flood of emotion, sharing about her husband’s illness and other tough things going on in her life.

My mom listened, talked through the situation, and offered hope. She also offered to pray with her, right there in front of Macy’s.

Sometimes we end up in the right place at the right time. Some may say it’s divine intervention. Some just fate. Others luck. I volley between the three depending upon how unusual the circumstance.

Regardless of how it happens, the tricky part is realizing you are indeed at that right place at that right time and acting.

It’s easy to walk by the crying old lady. It may be inconvenient to stop. You might be in a hurry, needing to get home to catch up on your favorite blog posts. But as a Christian, or as a fellow human being, I think we are called to look for these opportunities – to realize this is your time. And then, to do something about it.

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. mel ham

     /  February 16, 2014

    Those opportunities seem to follow Mae. She has that gift for making you okay and letting you know you are no different than anyone else. But she will point out one difference or you feel that it is for you and you only….You are special and God doesn’t make junk. She is always Your biggest cheer leader (your is defined as me, you, the children, the world). She is the best at reassuring that this too shall pass. She will always point out that you can do it…and if you share that you lost it (anger got the best of you, you have a negative opinion on something, or you have reached your limit.) , she’ll say well there is no wonder that you behaved that way with x, y, z that you are dealing with…you have a lot on you. She can find the smallest recognition in an act and make you feel like you conquered the world. She may be petite and fret sometimes about little things, she is very wise and knows the right words to help us. I love mae……regardless.

    Reply
  2. Jean! Jean! I loved her the minute I met her. She is a woman of great faith, loves her son (and family) unconditionally and infinitely, gets her hair done every week and has a golden heart. She may be petite, but she is so mighty. So faithful. So loving.

    Reply
  3. The lesson of the Good Samaritan! :) Awesome. We all need a “Jean” from time to time.

    Reply
  4. I believe the Lord calls us to be compassionate, to step out of our comfort zone and help someone in need. Sure, sounds like this is your mother… very special! I recall a time when I felt so compelled to help a dad and son with directions. I don’t know why…but felt this pull to butt in and give my two cents. Needless to say, the Lord told me to do so… the little boy’s dad was in prison… I told the 8 yr old boy how special he was and his dad was so proud of him(he just had written his dad a letter), and that his dad while had made mistakes will come out stronger because of his son. The boy beamed and his uncle… thanked me and hugged me. As I left, I felt a warm shiver come over me… the Lord at work. When you “just go”, you let the Lord lead you to do good works. Your mother was led…whether she realized it or not. Way to go, MOM!!!

    Thanks for sharing a personal story of compassion….it isn’t that hard is it?

    Reply
  5. What a beautiful reminder. Thank you.

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  February 16, 2014

    Why am I not surprised that your Mom would do that? It’s something we need to think about every day, How others are hurting and may need to at least talk it out. I always thought you were good at that too.

    Reply
  7. Beautiful story, and a great reminder that we are all people and we should stop when we see someone in pain. I’m going to work on that – which says a lot because I’m not a people person to begin with! :)

    Reply
  8. T M I ~ Bruce! Yuck. I doubt I’ll have my breakfast. Did I say gross…😩

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6,329 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,329 other followers