Experiencing Jodness

lunchbox

Often an experience brings you joy or sadness. Today I experienced both wrapped up in one.

As I washed Stephanie’s lunchbox out today, it dawned on me that if my calculations are correct, with half school days for exams, honor student lunch, and previously placed lunch orders, today was the last time I’ll ever pack a lunch for that kid. Next year she’ll be in high school, and food is included in the tuition.

When it first hit me, I was elated! Hot damn! One less miserable thing to do before 7 AM. I don’t have to hear, “Dad, you got my sandwich and Michelle’s sandwich mixed up again!! I like ham. She eats turkey!  Got it?”

No longer do I have to search for a vegetable or fruit to ease my conscience – something to toss between the Cheetos and Pirate’s Bootie so they appear less unhealthy. No longer will I be searching for her cold packs at the crack of dawn, realizing I never returned it to the freezer to re-chill. I’ll never have to wash her lunchbox again or futz with the ornery zipper. Only three more years and Michelle will complete the cycle.  I’ll be fully out of the lunch making business! Whoa whoa.

And then it hit me… no longer will Stephanie rely on me to fill her mid day belly. I won’t have the option to tuck in a funny love note to surprise her at school. I remember the first year I made her lunches.  She wasn’t much bigger than her lunchbox.  I tried my mom’s go tos - tuna and egg salad; Vienna Sausages; cold, dry bologna sandwiches – she didn’t complain.  She just returned home with tuna and egg salad; Vienna Sausages; and cold, dry bologna.

“Stephanie, you didn’t eat your lunch baby.”

She’d smile and sweetly confess, “I didn’t like that stuff.”

No longer is my baby in middle school. She’s growing up. She’s moving on.

I got a lump in my throat – a lump about packing lunches. Lisa would have popped open a bottle of champagne. Not me.  I’m too damn sentimental.

I think this phenomena of jodness (joy + sadness) might become a regular for me. Graduations are in my future. There could be a wedding or three. Maybe a wonderful career opportunity for my kid that isn’t within walking distance of Dellwood Drive.

Oh the joy! Oh the throat lump. I just feel jod tonight.

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Oh,that is a great word….jodness. My youngest son is graduating from high school. It has me in tears. He’s not going away to college; he’s going to the community college because he has no idea what he wants to do. I feel jod because it’s another life transition, a change. I’m so proud of him and filled with joy, but MY BABY IS GRADUATING FROM HIGH SCHOOL!!!!! That makes me sad.
    Yup. Jodness abounds.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 28, 2014

      Hard not to have a tinge of wishing they’d stay young.

      Reply
  2. I call it the happy-sads. But I might like your word better.

    Reply
  3. Been thinking about your post all morning because my oldest is off to kindergarten in the fall and I am filled with jodness. Was simultaneously listening to NPR and something occurred to me — you don’t need to get a radio, you just need to enlist your computer or tablet or smart phone. All the local NPR stations stream online!

    Reply
  4. Great, now I have a lump in my throat! Everyone keeps pointing out how old T is getting and how he’ll be in college soon. I don’t need to keep hearing that!!

    Reply
  5. thats great

    Reply
  6. Loved reading it ! Honestly ,packing the lunch box at that ungodly hour is a real osin for me but yups, maybe a day will come when I’ll miss it !

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 28, 2014

      It will be short lived, but you’ll miss it!

      Reply
  7. I meant pain , sorry for the typo!

    Reply
  8. Aunt Susan

     /  May 30, 2014

    the nerve of that child to get older and go to high school!

    Reply
  9. “Oh the joy, oh the throat lump.” —> about sums it up as a patent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8,374 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,374 other followers