56? 108?

Mae at Xmas

She don’t look bad – for her age.

Tomorrow will be my mother’s birthday, we don’t know how old she is.

We estimate she’s somewhere between 56 and 108.

My dad says that she rounds to the nearest five-year increment. She was 40 from age 38 to 43 at which time she turned 45 for another six years.

She says she doesn’t mind if we know her age. She just can’t tell us – because she isn’t sure.

I asked my dad if he had her birth certificate. He said back then they just carved your name and birthdate on a tree in the yard. Perhaps someone jotted her birthday with a quill in a family bible somewhere. Who knows? My great-grandmother had ten kids so we have no idea where the official book might be.

As we had this discussion, my father informed me that I had about one year before I would receive my AARP card. His friend then told me that membership entitled me to free sodas at the Taco Bell. I hope I don’t end up in the doughnut hole, I anticipate being on a number of meds in the future. Both of my parents have pill boxes the size of a love seat.

“It’s not medicine. It’s just supplements. We don’t have any medical issues.”

Not unless you count: sciatica, adult acne, heart stents, eyelid “enhancements”, cataracts, deafness, back and joint issues, one bum leg, a bum hip, asthma, worsening allergies, wrinkles, hair loss and insomnia.

Fortunately, they’re still pretty hip. They text, Facebook, own iPhones and iPads, dance, know how to scan photos into the computer, and come to Raleigh to drive my kids around town at least two times per month.

I guess that’s not bad for 108 (or nearabouts.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Grandparents are such a blessing! Happy Birthday to your mom!

    Reply
  2. happy birthday to your mum

    Reply
  3. Kerri Hurley

     /  June 18, 2014

    Your Mom is one of my favorite ladies in the world! Happy Birthday to a very special lady!

    Reply
  4. I like that birthday style. Maybe I should adopt this method.

    Reply
  5. Mom

     /  June 18, 2014

    Ok, just so you know…I am 77 tomorrow. This time I am not going to jump five years. Age is not a big deal. It’s just a number. I hope to enjoy every minute of this year. See that you enjoy every minute of year 50 next year.

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  June 19, 2014

    Well Happy birthday to her, and she should only be 39!

    Reply
  7. Andee

     /  June 20, 2014

    I do know she does NOT dye her hair! ( At least she didn’t a few years ago.) Best wishes for your mom’s birthday and she do look good! Love, Andee & Scott

    Reply
  8. Mom

     /  June 20, 2014

    I do put some highlights in it now. It has refused to gray still so I just work on trying to get it to look like it’s gray by putting some streaks of light in it. It just wants to fall out now. It is not interested in color.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 8,174 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,174 other followers