Christmas Eve

Posted by Danny

On Christmas Eve I was plundering through presents in the bottom of my closet, it’s a good size walk-in that I shared with Lisa.  I happened to look up at the top shelf,

a place I’d looked 100 times before this year.  There are a number of bags up there with Lisa’s stuff in them.  I had never been compelled to open them, but one in particular caught my eye that afternoon.  For some reason, I reached up.  When I opened it, I saw a Mickey Mouse dressed in a Santa suit.  I smiled remembering our family vacation trip last December between Lisa’s treatment and surgery.  Stephanie bought a Minnie dressed as Mrs. Santa and Lisa said, “I hate to have a Minnie without a matching Mickey.”  My response, “We don’t need any more frickin’ stuffed animals!”  Apparently she purchased it to give to a kid at a later date.  Isn’t it interesting that I opened that bag on Christmas Eve?  I wrapped it for the girls from mom.

If ever there was a doubting Thomas, it is I.  I like to touch, see, feel, and smell before I trust or believe.  I can almost hear Lisa defending me up in heaven.

“He really didn’t mean that.

I know, I know God but he really is a good guy.

Let me go down there and give him a sign; maybe that’ll rattle him.

You’re gonna let him in aren’t you?”

Sometimes I think that the signs are here for true hope and faith.  Sometimes I’m just too stupid to see them.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Judy Rogers

     /  January 11, 2011

    Keep on writing. This is great

    Reply
  2. Been There Too

     /  January 11, 2011

    You guys are doing a great job. Christmas is so hard — I will never forget my best friend coming over Christmas Eve to help me stuff the stockings and get the presents organized. What a gift that was to me 7 weeks after my husband died. But like you, we had a good Christmas in spite of all the pain. Kids are the best healer in the world for brokenhearted grownups. Keep writing, this is a wonderful set of memories you are documenting.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, and could not agree more re: kids as healers. They don’t even know how much they help us get through the days, especially the hard ones. Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  3. Wilson

     /  January 11, 2011

    hey danny…..why do i feel like i am reading your blog in Andy Rooney’s voice??? priceless and very respectful commentary….loving every word…you are truly a blessed man….and your girls are blessed to have you as their daddy….no doubt lisa is directing this show from above!

    i love you!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  January 11, 2011

      She’s looking down alright – I’m sure with the eye roll she was famous for, half disapproving/half pride.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

