Pancakes vs. Waffles

Posted by Danny

We are a waffle family – we are NOT a pancake family.  I just can’t convice the girls.

It snowed today.  So what do you do when it snows?  Big breakfast when you finally roll out of bed at 10.

The kids begged for chocolate chip pancakes.  I suggested waffles – we have a waffle maker and you just slop the Bisquick batter on, close the lid and swa-la, a perfect waffle every time.  But no – they HAD to have pancakes.  What is the difference?  They are one in the same, I argued.  Bisquick, milk, egg.

“We REALLY want pancakes dad.”

If you follow this blog for long, you will realize that I am a pushover.  Jesse, not so much (he IS Lisa’s brother).  In this situation, both Lisa and Uncle Jesse would respond with, “We have a waffle maker.  I prefer to make waffles, they are easier.   You can have waffles or cereal, we have 13 boxes”.  I, on the other hand, melt at the puppy dog eyes.  Three girls in my bed, snuggling with their daddy.  “We really want pancakes daddy…please.”

When they use the word “daddy”, it just melts my heart.  And their eyes, they are so helpless yet earnest in their plea.  If I don’t make them, they’ll be so disappointed.  And really, who doesn’t deserve chocolate chip pancakes on a snow day?  They’re just so cute and beautiful.  And they love me so much.

“Pancakes it will be!”

I don’t have a nonstick pan or a griddle.  So I take out the metal frying pan which is warped on the bottom.  Michelle helps crack the eggs (I warn the others to chew before swallowing, I think a couple of pieces of shell might be in the batter).  I spray with Pam, the nonstick (not so much) cooking spray. And just like the last time I made pancakes, the sacrifical two – every time the first two I make get stuck to the pan, burn and make a mess.  I scrape them out – cursing as if I’m making Christmas cookies (see one of our first blog entries) and swear that I will NEVER make pancakes again (which I know is a lie because of the “d” word, daddy).

Step 1, make the batter

Step 2, put them in the pan

Step 3, the sacrificial two

step 4, stick to the bottom of the pan and scrape them in the sink

Step 5, remind yourself that you are a waffle family

What is it that makes me such a softy?  Is it the way I was raised?  My mother allowing me to stay home from school if I had a hangnail.  Perhaps I’m just nicer than Jesse – that’s probably it.

But this time, I’ve learned my lesson.  Today truly was the last time I’m going to make pancakes; unless I get a griddle; or unless all three girls climb into my bed and say, “Pretty please daddy with sugar on top…”

Next Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Matt

     /  January 11, 2011

    You guys need to invest $20 in an electric griddle–that’s my absolute favorite cooking-related appliance!!!! Perfect for pancakes, sausages, grilling english muffins, etc.

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  January 11, 2011

    It’s good to have at least one pushover in the family. BUT You aren’t a pushover with us! Where did we do wrong? You will learn to make pancakes or… maybe a grill for Fathers’ Day to go along with the toaster?

    Reply
  3. Helen LaVere

     /  January 12, 2011

    Invite me over the next time you make pancakes and I’ll eat the sacrificial two. You are the BEST daddy!

    Reply
  4. Helen LaVere

     /  January 12, 2011

    Or I could be kind and bring a non-stick griddle…

    Reply
  5. Wanda Easley

     /  January 12, 2011

    I just subscribed to this blog last night and am already a fan. Maybe a 2nd career in writing? Thanks. This is great fun.
    Wanda Easley

    Reply
  6. Mel Ham

     /  January 12, 2011

    I feel like a fly on your wall. What a cozy time. Crock pots and griddles..get a griddle. Dash has it down to a science you can too it’s in the HAM genes. I love this hammies and hayes. The Wii MJ is so funny. Miss you…see you soon Love Melly

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  January 12, 2011

      I’d rather complain about making pancakes than find a place to store a griddle! Love you!

      Reply
  7. Nancy

     /  January 12, 2011

    Way too many choc chips in the sacrificial two! Next time just make them plain… cause you know there will be a next time!
    LOVE the blog!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  January 13, 2011

      That’s a really good point and money saver – becaue I am “thrifty”.

      Reply
  8. Nonie Sowers

     /  January 31, 2011

    Bruce,
    You can do it! Coconut oil, not Pam, makes perfect pancakes. Get a flat pan at Bed, Bath, & Beyond. They are like 10 bucks. Turn the heat slightly above med and don’t pour the batter until drops of water sizzle in the oil. Drop the chocolate chips in after you pour and don’t flip until little bubbles are forming and the sides are starting to brown. You went to an engineering school! You can make pancakes! Love following your story on here!
    Nonie

    Reply
  1. Snow Day! « The Real Full House

Leave a Reply

