Sunday Post 2: The Small Things

When Lisa and I would ride back and forth to Duke last year, often with bad news in tow, we’d hold hands.  I’d put my arm out, palm up proped on the rest in between our seats.  She’d place her hand over mine.  I can’t recount how many times this year I’ve ridden down the road with my arm in that position, imagining that her hand was still there. 

Stephanie is just now getting big enough to sit in the front seat without the airbag’s “off” signal shining in my face.  That’s sort of been our determining factor for sitting up front.  Most of her friends are already in the passenger seat.  With an uptight dad and an older sister, she hasn’t had much opportunity to upgrade from the back.

This past  weekend DJ was on a mission trip with our church youth group.  So when we hopped in the car tonight, Stephanie meandered into the front seat hoping I’d allow her to stay.  I turned the car on – the airbag’s “off” signal came on briefly and then disappeared.  I looked at her.  She smiled.  We turned the CD player on, the soundtrack from Wicked began.  We’d seen that play this summer in New York and the girls loved the music.  The song “Defying Gravity” was on cue.  As Steph and Michelle sang, I found my hand in the position it had been in so many times before.  But this time, Stephanie grabbed it. 

A rush of emotion overcame me.  How could I miss something so small as holding hands?  I’d lost so much – the person I shared everything with – and yet, at that moment, it was the touch of her hand that I missed the most.

Why do we go through life oblivious to the things that bring us the most joy?  We remember big elaborate vacations.  We have pictures of all our “important” occasions.  And we take for granted the small things – a hand to hold, the roll of an eye, an expression we learned to expect.

Stop.  Look.  Realize.  Be thankful.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Helen LaVere

     /  January 23, 2011

    Thank you for the reminder my friend.

    Reply
  2. Faye Humphrey

     /  January 23, 2011

    Bruce,
    I am so very proud of you. I cannot believe the young teen that hung around with my young teen is now such an awesome father. You’re the best!

    Reply
  3. Barbara Rogers

     /  January 23, 2011

    What a wonderful reminder of how quickly things can change and that we need to always be aware of life’s blessings and opportunites to reach out and touch each other. Your girls must be so proud of you and their uncle for the wonderful, sensitive men that you are… and so thankful for the tender and loving care they are receiving from you both!!!

    Reply
  4. Dad

     /  January 23, 2011

    Loved this one. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
  5. April (Calvin) Poole

     /  January 23, 2011

    Beautiful and so true. Your writings are exceptional and this one in particular is most meaningful for me.
    Your mom told me of your blog and have enjoyed your adventures.

    Reply
  6. Charlotte

     /  January 23, 2011

    This turned out well. And Bruce, you can actually kinda sing.

    Reply
  7. Charlotte

     /  January 23, 2011

    I mean “Danny”, and I was talking about your music video, but this was good, too. It’s a reminder we all need to hear, again and again and again. You’re the best.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  January 24, 2011

      Thank you Charlotte – working on the singing career as a backup if the writing doesn’t take off.

      Reply
  8. Patty Thomson

     /  January 23, 2011

    Thank you for this one. it doesn’t matter the age, we all need to stop and make a memory!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

