New Uses for Verizon

Which one is dad's phone?

It’s 10 pm.  I got the two younger kids in bed at about 9.  DJ wasn’t feeling great, but had a lot of homework.  She’s been working upstairs in her bedroom.  I am furiously catching up on email, kid’s school folders, check writing, thank you notes, and a few work projects.  Doing my baked bean shoulder presses in between. 

The phone rings.  I hustle over.  It’s DJ, calling from her cell phone. 

“Dad”

“DJ?  Are you still at home?”

“Yes.  I’m upstairs.  I’m going to bed.  Just thought I’d let you know.”

“Did you break your leg?”

“No.  I just didn’t feel like getting out of bed.”

I’m surprised she didn’t Facebook me.  I love that kid!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Helen LaVere

     /  January 24, 2011

    Like!

    Reply
  2. Mel Ham

     /  January 25, 2011

    Been there done that…how about a cell call to bring them something to drink and we don’t even have stairs. Atleast yours was a sweet “I’m going to bed”. Dash and I created this cell phone communication. Cam and Carlin have facebooked each other right across the hall talking about who was going to go get something to eat. Is it laziness or being computer savy?

    Reply
  3. Bettie Shipp Rabb

     /  January 29, 2011

    Our oldest called us from the bathroom one night at 10pm to tell us she needed toilet paper…again, not something I think Verizon planned for! Funny story, Bruce!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

