This All Started Innocently Enough…

POSTED BY JESSE

We’re eating out for dinner tonight, and it’s not my fault. Well, not REALLY not my fault.

See, there are basically two adults in this house. Danny is one. And DJ and I combine make up the other adult. We have enough grown-up between the two of us to equal one adult. This can be good or bad. In a good way, it means there are three people with “adult-like” qualities, so we can spread ourselves out and cover most things. But the down side is that if DJ and I team up for some mischief, there’s really no one to stop us.

You could, actually, blame it on the blog.

You see, earlier today, Danny concluded his blog post by saying:

Think we’ll just go out to eat for dinner; I’m tired

Only DJ and I (bloodhounds that we are) detected thawing bean and chicken soup in the sink this morning at breakfast. We knew he had no intentions of going out to dinner. He was lying on the blog! We felt justified in taking corrective measures.

This afternoon, just before Danny got home, I called up to her:

“Hey DJ, want to stick the soup back in the freezer so we have to go out to dinner for Valentine’s Day?”

No hesitation from her: “YES! I almost did it earlier, but I didn’t want to do it on my own because I didn’t want to, you know, like get in trouble.”

See what I mean? Team up the two half-adults and we can’t be stopped. She was way too enthusiastic for me not to go through with it. But I had to pretend to be sensible:

Me: “Yeah, but you get out of dance late…”

DJ: “Yeah, but Stephanie already did piano and me and Stephanie already did homework. And Michelle never has homework!”

Me: “Ok…maybe we can convince him to pick up chinese.”

The soup really did look and smell good. I'm glad we have more.

Finally we decide to go through with it, though we’re still not clear on the reveal. Only AS WE’RE PUTTING THE SOUP IN THE FREEZER Danny literally comes through the door. Almost busted! We hastily toss the soup into the freezer as he blows by us to the bedroom (probably has to pee). Maybe too hastily.

Danny ventures back out to pick up Michelle, so DJ and I work on what the excuse is going to be (by the way, she’s waaay to good at brainstorming excuses for a 13-year old). DJ is just about to bolt for her dance carpool. She opens the freezer to check on the soup and WHAM! One of the containers explodes on the floor. A pile of beans and chicken, with soup slowly spreading across the kitchen like the blood of a gunshot victim. Oops.

DJ’s out the door leaving me holding the bag. Stephanie, who was all too content to just shout out suggestions for dining options should we pull this off, is now very interested. She comes downstairs in time to snap some pictures of me cleaning (my blog instincts weren’t sharp enough to grab a snapshot of the whole spill. It was grand).

the "chalk outline" of the soupy victim

Steph asks me:

“What are you going to tell him?”

“I guess I’ll just have to tell him the truth, huh?”

But not before shooting it out in a quick blog post, right?

(by the way, he’s been home 30 minutes now and still hasn’t noticed the soup missing or the smell of beans and chicken in the air. Guess I do a pretty good clean-up job!)

just desserts?

Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Annette Heath

     /  February 14, 2011

    I love this blog. I love this family. Danny, you write so beautifully of your loving wife and your overwhelming loss. You are a great Dad and Hayes is the best uncle EVER! Wish I could reach out and bring you dinner….but I’m in Virginia and really miss Raleigh. I love that Chinese restaurant.
    XOXOXO to all of you and extra for those sweet girls.

    Reply
  2. Jean

     /  February 14, 2011

    Boy,you’re tricky! I don’t blame you though. It’s Valentines and soup is for other days…not Valentines. Remind me to watch you from now on, though. Now I know why you probably wanted to change the bed the last time we came. Probably wanted to short sheet the bed. Best blog you’ve written. Love seeing the true Jessie coming out.

    Reply
    • I can honestly say neither Bailey nor I would have done it on our own. Together we can be Trouble (with a capital ‘T’ of course)

      Reply
  3. Leslie

     /  February 15, 2011

    See, if danny had taken us up on our offer to bring take-out last night the soup fiasco would have never happened! Of course, Joe threw up everywhere last night, so we would have been cleaning that off of your floor instead of bean soup…

    Reply
  4. He had a lot of offers–thanks. We’ll take you up on it another time.

    Reply
  5. This one does so remind me of TFH show! Danny and Jesse you are doing well! I recently added you to my list. I like your blogs and am slowly catching up.

    Reply
  6. Ask wordpress support they are good! I wish I could remember. When they come out with their options you can tak’em or leav’em unfortunately no one uses my like button or leave comments, I have shy readers!

    Reply
  7. I hope the wood floor isn’t ruined!

    Reply
  8. Aunt Susan

     /  February 15, 2011

    Well Jesse, you influence is finally showing, or are you just now admitting to it?

    Reply
  9. Aunt Susan

     /  February 15, 2011

    Jesse the more I think of it I’m not sure that innocent is a word I would associate with you! I would question some premediation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

