Happy Birthday, Bieber

POSTED BY JESSE

Today is Justin Bieber’s birthday. He was born on March 1st, 1994 at 12:56 a.m. How do I know this? I am living with a Bieb-ette.

Yesterday I picked DJ up from school. She told me she had to make a cake that night. What for?

The Biebs

“For Justin Bieber’s birthday!”

 

She also told me she was going to set her alarm for 12:56 a.m. because that’s what time he was born. I rolled my eyes, but I was amused.

This Bieber kid is the real deal. DJ first saw him in concert before he went to super-huge-megastar status when he was opening for Taylor Swift. She flew up to Boston to visit her Aunt Sallie and they went to the show together. She’s been hooked ever since.

And it sounds like she’s not the only one. His movie made $30 million the opening weekend. He’s a trending topic on Twitter daily. His fans even went after Esperanza Spalding, the poor girl who dared to win the Best New Artist Grammy over Bieber. So it’s safe to say he’s probably not going anywhere for a while, provided he doesn’t start rolling around Hollywood with, say, Charlie Sheen.

You ever heard of Bye, Bye Birdie? A Broadway show turned movie about a star singer going off to war and the fan who wins the chance to give him a goodbye kiss? The Tanner girls love it because they watch old musicals at Danny’s parents’ house (I am a BIG fan of this–they have a great collection that the girls just love. Kids will watch classic movies; there’s a reason they’re classics!).

I have a soft spot for the show because my middle school and my high school both put on a production of it and I was cast in the same role both times: Hugo, the nerdy, left by the wayside boyfriend, who, perhaps not coincidentally, is about the only lead character who does not sing any solos.

Well DJ is a living Kim MacAfee, the main girl in the show. She definitely has 2011 version of the “Telephone Hour” song mastered, though instead of the rotary it’s today’s teenage combination of text, talk, facebook, and skype.

Bieber's birthday cake, pre-icing

And Bieber is her Conrad Birdie. She paid some exorbitant amount of money to the Justin Bieber movie, Never Say Never, a week before it officially came out in theaters. If there were a contest to kiss Justin Bieber before sending him off to fight in Libya, DJ would be in it and I wouldn’t bet against her winning.

 

And last night she made him a birthday cake. I think (hope) that deep down she’s being a little bit tongue-in-cheek in her obsession, but she did insist on making purple icing and spent a lot of time trying to figure out which combinations of food coloring would produce it, so maybe she really does have a problem.

But I admire her creativity and the way she completely throws herself into silly projects like this from time to time. It adds a little spice to the ordinary routine.

some father-daughter time in the kitchen

And maybe the best part was how unfazed Danny seemed that his daughter was making a mess in the kitchen for a Bieber birthday cake. After a day of work, and running the late shuttle for kid pick-up, and cooking dinner, and answering homework questions, I don’t even think I heard him sigh when DJ said, “Daddy, will you help me make icing for the cake? We don’t have any.”

 

In fact, it was kind of neat to see him passing down some of his better-than-average baking skills to his oldest daughter.

“Grab the confection sugar and the vanilla out of the cupboard….”

And together they made cake icing and iced Justin Bieber’s birthday cake. DJ then took the special purple icing to do the writing.

Unfortunately cakes don’t come with spell-check, so with only Stephanie as the consultant, they first came up with this:

Oops.

It’s B-i-e-b-e-r (but she fixed it). Whew, maybe she’s not as obsessed as I thought.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Courtney

     /  March 1, 2011

    Always remember “I” before “E” except after “C”!!! It even applies to Bieber!!

    Reply
  2. Christy

     /  March 1, 2011

    Too funny! I’m not quite sure what to do with my almost 7 year old and her growing obsession with Justin Bieber.

    And I remember those musicals — don’t forget your starring role in Brigadoon. Have the girls seen those videos? Great memories. 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh yes, I remember. I think I was better as Hugo….where instead of singing I just sat there looking nerdy while all the girls sang “One Special Boy” to me.

      Reply
  3. Anne Spottswood

     /  March 1, 2011

    Played Rosie in Bye Bye Birdie freshman year of high school. SO FUN! Huge fan of old Musicals. Love the dedication of a true fan! Great post!

    Reply
    • I liked how we were like 13 years old doing it and nobody understood any of the dated references….shriners? Ed Sullivan? “Flying Down To Rio”?
      Now kids will watch and be like, “Telephones?”

      Reply
  4. Barbara Rogers

     /  March 1, 2011

    This HAS TO BE one of my favs!!! I felt like I was right in the kitchen watching! What a great DAD!!!

    Reply
  5. Mom

     /  March 1, 2011

    Good job on the baking, Bailey. You’re getting the hang of it, girl. Maybe you can cook the “big Daddy cake” one day for his birthday. Mae

    Reply
  1. Justin Bieber Is In My Bathroom « The Real Full House

Leave a Reply

