Weird Free for Forty Days

Posted by Danny

I’m not opposed to Lent, I’ve just never particpated.  Although my current church suggests we give something up, I was raised Baptist.  They give stuff up all the time – there’s nothing left to give when spring rolls around.  Plus, forty days is a really long time.  I might could handle a week. 

That’s why I find it interesting that my daughters always seem to get excited about doing without something during this season.

Last night, DJ and Stephanie made decisions about what they were going to give up.  DJ decided that Facebook was important to her so she would do without it until Easter.  That’s a pretty big sacrifice for her.  Although I cautioned Stephanie, she choose to give up her i-touch.  She just received it for Christmas and she really, really enjoys playing the games.  I fear she is quickly going to fall off the wagon, just as she did last year with chocolate and the year before with chewing gum.  But she’s getting older.  Maybe she will make it this time.

On the way to school  today, the girls asked me what I was giving up for Lent.  I pondered and suggested some things that clearly weren’t going to affect me this season:  kissing girls, cutting my fingernails (I bite only  when necessary), painting the house.  They balked at my list.  I then went with the absurd:  showers, underwear, doing their laundry.  Again, no takers. 

That’s when they began to offer ideas about my sacrifice.  DJ suggested I give up wine.

“That ain’t happening.”

Stephanie piped in with coffee.

“You’re going to get punished for suggesting that.”

Then DJ came up with what she thought was a perfect compromise for all, “Dad, why don’t you stop being weird for Lent?”

“That shouldn’t be a problem.  But I get to decide what is weird and what is not.”

“No way.  If you do something that we think is weird, you have to call one of your dad friends and ask him if he would do it.  If he says yes, it’s not weird.  If he says no, then it’s weird and you lose.”

They acuse me all of the time of doing stuff that they are certain other father’s would not do:  my particular dance moves – I don’t think are unusual; speaking in an undeciferable language and expecting them to respond – I’m sure all of the dads do that; throwing wet sponges at them when they run through the kitchen – a normal family activity for most.  But I decided to go along.  So until Easter, I cannot be “weird.”

I did take it upon myself to explain Fat Tuesday to them as we drove to school.  To celebrate, I opened all of the car windows and began yelling farm animal noises as we drove throughout the the neighborhoods:  “bock bock becock”, a long loud “mooooo”, my doberman pinscher impression.  They thought that was funny, until we neared the carpool line.  That’s when I opened the sunroof and started singing:

Little Bunny Foo Foo hopping through the forrest

scooping up the field mice and bopping them on the head.

But, I couldn’t drive and keep DJ from closing the roof.  So as we neared drop off, I turned the radio on to a station that was playing hymns.  How Great Thou Art was beautiful and I knew all the words.   I opened the window and sang along.

I’m not sure if the kids had fun or if I just completely humiliated them.  Either way, I guess we’ll have no more of that for the next forty days.  Sure hope I  can make it!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Steve Gill

     /  March 9, 2011

    Ok…. Danny…. this is what you do. When you think of a guy friend, just call me. I’m so darn weird that I’ll say YES to everything you do and they’ll start to realize that there are dads out there that are WAY weirder than you. I think God always loves a good effort. I hope Stephanie makes it through this time.

    Reply
  2. Lynn Moss

     /  March 9, 2011

    YOU are awesome! (I did not say “not weird”.)

    Reply
  3. Patty Thomson

     /  March 9, 2011

    Alas, I fear that all is lost. Honey, you were born weird or wired–however you spell it, that is you!! As you know, I am still a Baptist. I have never understook what happens if you do whatever it is that you have given up for Lent. what ever it is, get ready to pay the piper because it is in your blood to be weird!!! I do love your weirdness though!! Probably because you picked up a little it of weirdness from moi (or however you spell it).

    Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  March 9, 2011

    Danny, you weird? when? I have always seen you as normal, just like your wife’s brother and her Dad. Different, yes, weird never!!!

    Reply
  5. Mary

     /  March 9, 2011

    Al would like to be on the on-call list for determining weirdness. I think you’ll come out well in the end if you call him…..

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 9, 2011

      I need him on speed dial. Day one and I’m good.

      Reply
  6. Kim G

     /  March 9, 2011

    Danny, I would hate for you to lose your weird and go all boring on us. Our church encouraged us to focus on specific acts where we can be a blessing to others during Lent as an alternative to the traditional ‘giving up’. Of course if everyone else is giving stuff up that may just be weird. keep up the blog- it is truly a blessing.

    Reply
  7. Kim G

     /  March 15, 2011

    YES!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

