The Great Clothes Migration, 2010

I’ve learned to loath The Great Clothes Migration at our house. 

Twice each year, we go through all of the drawers and closets in our house.  It’s time to move the winter clothes out and the summer clothes in.  DJ’s hand me downs are shipped to Stephanie’s room.  Stephanie’s to Michelle’s.  Michelle’s go into three piles  1) trash 2) really special items we want to keep so that my attic will have a purpose and 3) the give away pile to a very dear friend who has two daughters a little younger than mine.

Yesterday we attacked DJ’s room.  I think I’m going to have to take a week off from work to recover.

DJ is a beautiful young woman who makes very good grades.  She is self confident and a leader.  She was honor camper at resident camp last summer.  She’s just an outstanding all around kid – I am so proud of her.  And, she’s a slob.

After about 30 minutes in her room, I considered calling Caterpiller to see if I could rent a Backhoe.  I discovered:

*15 unmatched socks throughout her room – four of them in her bathing suit drawer

*Enough fingernail polish to paint the nails of every 13 year old in South  America

*Single Benedryl tablets from the bathroom to the closet  and everywhere in between

*Femine products galore!

*A cup from the kitchen

and to top it off,

*Two of my good spoons under her bathroom sink!!

Is she eating cereal on the toilet?  Why would you have spoons under your bathroom sink?

The pile of clothes that don’t fit any longer mirror the local landfill – they just don’t smell as bad. 

She just drops paper – I think she has a neurological issue that keeps her from being able to throw things in a trash can. 

I’m about to take a nap to build up enough grit to tackle Stephanie’s room next weekend.  I’ve given her the seven day warning – we all need to get mentally and physcially prepared. 

I’d rather have three teeth extracted than to spearhead The Great Clothes Migration of 2010.

By the way, we’re missing one bear slipper. 

If you find one, please return it to me.  How do you lose an item this big?

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Love this! You are a better man than I, actually following through on this twice a year. I wish I could say the same. Regarding the bear slipper, might I suggest checking the freezer?

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 21, 2011

      I’ll check that tonight – I would not be surprised to find it there!

      Reply
  2. Jean

     /  March 21, 2011

    I sympathize with you. One down, 2 to go. You’re making progress!

    Reply
  3. Katie Rogers

     /  March 21, 2011

    Whenever I find spoons in the bathroom it is usually because I have been sick during the night and needed to take cough medicine. Those little cups are hard to read in the dark.
    Good luck with the rest of the project.

    Reply
  4. Patti

     /  March 21, 2011

    Ugh, you’ve reminded me I have to do the same thing for my 11-year-old. She already tackled the monumental task of cleaning the last remnants of baby-ish stuff out of her room, but we still need to work on the clothes. I’ll look for the bear slipper – you never know how far they might migrate.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 21, 2011

      I just want the slipper. If you find the bear, keep him.

      Reply
  5. evie lichti

     /  March 21, 2011

    Danny – you go boy! You’re an inspiration and I love you!

    Reply
  6. Katie Martin

     /  March 21, 2011

    This hit close to home. I have found bowls with ice cream sludge in the shower, macaroni and cheese dredges on plates in with the towels, and a sink that was being used as a trash can because I guess the additional 2 feet it would have taken to throw something away was just too far. Don’t get me started on the treasures under the bed! Glad I’m not the only one.

    Reply
  7. Aunt Susan

     /  March 21, 2011

    Danny, Danny, Danny, get used to it. You’ve got 2 more girls coming up. Have you thought about Uncle Jesse’s room?

    and besides, I’ll just wait till you finnish those, then you’ll be sooooooo good at it you can come do mine! lol

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 21, 2011

      Actually, Jesse’s pretty tidy. Not extremely – but he does alright.

      Reply
      • Aunt Susan

         /  March 22, 2011

        glad to hear it, when can I expect you to do my closets?

  8. Dotty

     /  March 21, 2011

    Oh my goodness, are you sure your daughter’s name is not Abby? We go through this same ritual at our house, and I must say I DESPISE it with a PASSION! Both of my girls have no clue what a trash can nor a clothes hamper is. We go through this weekly with Abby, only to be frustrated next week over the very same thing. I wish I could be one of those parents who could just let this slide and not say anything, but…I’m not. Oh and don’t even get me started on taking my things because they can’t find theirs. I went nuts today because I couldn’t find my lotion. Anyway this one I understand and dread because I need to do the same. I once found a jar of peanut butter and a whole tub of cookie dough in my daughter’s drawer and none of their socks match and that one I don’t care about any more! Take care and love ya like a brother!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 21, 2011

      I’ll pay you $16 to come do child number 2’s room.

      Reply
      • Dotty

         /  March 23, 2011

        Not enough Dude! I’m also with you on the dress up days at school and other times. I despise those days as much as the “Clothes Migration”. I never liked Halloween either because we had to dress up!

  9. Jean

     /  March 22, 2011

    You still haven’t outdone Carlin’s hamburger in her drawer among other things. That I will never understand.
    Mom

    Reply
  10. I am yet to do this in my own closet. I’m worried of what I’ll be seeing there too.

    BTW, I have given you a Versatile Blogger award. Check it out later if you have the time.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 23, 2011

      I did not know there was such a thing! But I appreciate it! I’m new to this stuff.

      Reply
  11. Leigh Ann

     /  March 25, 2011

    I’m going through this same process today! Man, what a chore. I don’t know what to tell you about the spoons, but I will tell you that I am missing 8 from my set. However, I have 15 non-matching ones that have come to live at my house. Figure THAT one out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12,035 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us