Don’t Get Much Sleep, But We Have A Little Fun

Not my actual bed.

Posted By Jesse

Last Sunday morning I heard a light tap on on my bedroom door, followed by a twist of the knob and slight cracking. I turned my gaze from Sportscenter to the room’s entrance, anticipating the appearance of a bored 8-year old looking for someone to entertain her. Sure enough, Michelle peered through the doorway with an “I know I wasn’t exactly invited, and I know it’s kind of early, but….” look on her face. When she saw me smiling rather than shooing her away, the door flew the rest of the way open and in three quick steps she had bounded into the room and up onto my bed.

I’m not sure exactly when the girls decided I was less of a guest who was not to be bothered and more of a family member who is only granted semi-privacy, but it was a welcome change from my perspective.

On this particular morning, Stephanie had had a night of restless sleep and coughing, and Danny was letting her sleep in a bit in his bed, which is where Michelle had undoubtedly begun her quest for a playmate. But he booted her to let Stephanie rest, and 8 a.m. is just too early in the morning to start playing with dolls I suppose.

So Michelle and I did lounging stuff. I tickled. We snuggled. We wrote letters on each other’s backs and tried to guess what the message was. I wrapped her up like a burrito in my comforter and pretended I couldn’t figure out how to get her out. I acted like I feel back asleep on top of her, smothering her until she could stop laughing enough to belt out, “Get! Off! Me!” All in all…it was probably the best Sunday morning I’ve had in a while.

I’m not overly eager to have another human completely dependent on me. But if you put enough of these types of moments in the brochure to draw in people to become parents, I’d probably get suckered into signing my life away without looking too closely at the fine print.

Lisa and Danny’s bed used to be the main hub of activity in the house, I have gathered. That is because it was also Lisa’s throne. Danny tells me in the evenings she would set up shop in her bed: Law and Order re-runs on the television, laptop computer open for work or Disney planning, she would welcome kids to her bed to review flash cards, plan summer activities, or just plain snuggle. In fact, any time I ask Michelle about memories of her Mom she brings up snuggling in her bed.

Danny probably recognizes some of Lisa’s sedentary traits in her brother, because after dinner I often post up with a laptop on my bed and dial in the evening’s sporting events on the television. I’m not nearly the center of activity Lisa was, but I’ve come to find that more and more the girls treat hopping up on my bed–to chat, to play, for study help–as a regular thing, and not something they have to ask permission to do. And I love it.

Yes, there are times I’m trying to bang out an article that I have put off and put off and now have to write double-time just to get it in a day late. And there are probably times when I would enjoy sleeping in. But I’m trying to put the word out that my bed is open for family business.

It may not be “Grandma’s Feather Bed” and it certainly can’t compete with Lisa’s throne, but my bed is starting to work its way into the rotation of family hang-out spots. DJ will stop by if Danny is putting the other girls to bed and she needs someone to quiz her on vocabulary words. There are still a pair of Stephanie’s dress shoes in my room from when she got home from church and sprinted to my room to let me know how lazy I was for still being in my pajamas….and ended up staying for a while. And, of course, the world is Michelle’s playground, so she’ll come in looking for entertainment any time she pleases.

Moving in with the Tanners, I basically forfeited the right to lock my door. Best trade I ever made.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Amy

     /  April 8, 2011

    AWESOME post from an amazing uncle. Those are mighty lucky Tanner girls 🙂

    Reply
  2. Anne Spottswood

     /  April 8, 2011

    Great GREAT Post!

    Reply
  3. Charlotte Gregory

     /  April 8, 2011

    There is a book in you Uncle Jesse – I hope you can see that.

    Reply
  4. Love this post!

    Reply
  5. What Charlotte said. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Francie Reding

     /  April 8, 2011

    Love, love this post!

    Reply
  7. Lucy West

     /  April 8, 2011

    Hayes!
    You are wonderful.
    All the Wests say so.
    Love,
    Us

    Reply
  8. Aunt Susan

     /  April 8, 2011

    Jesse you just get more awesome by the day. I am so proud to be in the family with you. the girls will be so much better for you, and if you ever have your own kids, they too will be awsome.

    Reply
  9. You da Uncle! Jesse. You are doing well!

    Reply
  10. You don’t know me, but I’ve been following this blog for awhile because your family’s story is simultaneously heart-wrenching and uplifting. I’m sure you hear this often but I think you (Uncle Jesse) are truly an incredible individual and the impact you’re having on the lives of these three girls will mean more to them than you’ll possibly ever know. I wish the best for all of you.

    Reply
  11. Kim G

     /  April 9, 2011

    I always knew you were soft and squishy on the inside, Uncle Jesse. Love this post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

