Lord give us strength – it’s May

Posted by Danny

I already struggle with February –   Now I’m growing to dislike May.  Is it humanly possible to cram one more event into a 30 day period of time?

I have observed 6 hours of dance classes this month.  Six is not a big number if you are talking about pieces of paper.  It is a very large number if you’re talking about hours of dance class observation.  But I’ll have to admit, my girls are graceful and beautiful!  I think they get their dance genes from me.

I’ve completed four permission slips for school trips this month.  Michelle came home one day and said, “If you don’t turn my permission slip in by tomorrow, I can’t go to the movie with my class.”  I dug it out of the recycle bin – it was sandwiched between her cursive writing assignment and her dot to dot drawing of a bunny.  Does the school really need specific permission from me to take my kid to a movie?  Is she safe?  Is she having fun?  Can I get a full day of work in?  Will she be back by dinner?  If it’s not rated R and if the answers to those questions are yes, by all means, take her!  You don’t need my special permission! 

We’ve gone to 10 extra chorus practices to prepare for end of year performances. 

We’ve been confirmed and had three events surrounding that special occasion.  We also had confirmation homework to complete and a “test”.  If you fail do you go to hell?

The cotillion crash course was held four evenings in a row the first week of May and Michelle wrote in her school journal that she didn’t know why she was going to stupid cotillion because “she already knew all of her manners.”  I beg to differ.

Open House at school was the weekend before the crash course on manners.  At the end of 5th grade, our art teacher gives parents a booklet with our kid’s self portraits from K – 5th grade.  I’ll have to admit I teared up looking through Stephanie’s pics.  But no time for crying – I had another event to get to.

I accidentally purchased a $300 desk at the school auction for Stephanie and participated in the Soul Train line at the 70’s themed event.  I’m trying to loosen up a bit. 

We’ve had end of year church programs and end of year classroom events, youth Sunday and a summer camp reunion.  The Athletic Banquet is Monday.  I need to bake a “goodie” for a teacher this week.  I wonder if she likes Goldfish.

There were physicals for summer camp and, of course, the dental appointments happen to fall in May.  There are 11 other months and ours fall in May???

DJ has exams coming up and I’m desperately searching for two missing library books (they can withhold your report card for that!).  Amelia frickin’ Bedelia.  They’re probably buried under socks.

Three graduation parties are headed our way for DJ – and she’s only completed the 8th grade.  I didn’t graduate from 8th grade – I just rode the bus home on that Friday and watched Gilligan’s Island while my mom fried salmon balls for dinner.

Yet to come:  piano recital, chorus performance, and Awards Chapel.

I can’t wait for June – Topsail Beach – we’ll be there soon!

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Kim B

     /  May 25, 2011

    I hate to break it to you but graduation from high school is worse! Not so much from SMS but when one kid comes home from college and you are the dumping ground for their stuff while the other one is so engrossed in all the SENIOR activities at church and school – You just want to run away! Hang in there it will pass and you will wonder what happened as we all do… Graduation into Chaos!

    Reply
  2. morgan

     /  May 25, 2011

    Great post and my sentiments exactly! As a teacher, yes – goldfish are very acceptable. I received them once with a tag that said “You are oFishally awesome!” I thought it was quite clever – feel free to grab the bag of goldfish and stick that quote to go along with it.

    Reply
  3. eloise

     /  May 25, 2011

    Manic May Makes Me Miserable Too except May 29 (Mary Mac’s bday)!

    Reply
  4. Dana

     /  May 25, 2011

    The goldfish comment made me spit out my cereal! Love reading each post!!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 26, 2011

      I’m glad you didn’t spit out goldfish because they are really messy.

      Reply
  5. “I didn’t graduate from 8th grade – I just rode the bus home on that Friday and watched Gilligan’s Island while my mom fried salmon balls for dinner.” That’s funny!

    Reply
  6. Busy bee. My dad was a “Dance Dad” too. He can hardly hear the word ballet without shuddering a little bit 🙂

    Reply
  7. Aunt Gayle

     /  May 25, 2011

    Beautiful pics of the girls! (I hope someone makes you some fish balls! Good work Dad!)

    Reply
  8. This sounds familiar, except I need to replace dance class with Lego Star Wars video games.

    Reply
  9. Kimberly

     /  May 25, 2011

    Found your blog through Dottie L. I learned from Dottie both our girls will be freshmen at SMS in the fall. I lost my husband to cancer in February; I have found comfort in your words. Keep writing!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 26, 2011

      Talked to Dotty about you. Every time I hear of more young people dealing with our situation, my heart breaks. I hope we can catch up when you’re in town for SMS. Please let me know when you’re headed our way. I’d love to connect our daughters!

      Reply
  10. CFeath

     /  May 25, 2011

    LOVED this post Danny. Think reading about your 8th grade celebration was the funniest part of my day.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 26, 2011

      Seriously – we didn’t celebrate 8th grade in Fayetteville, NC!

      Reply
  11. I feel your weariness. Your May is our June, as we don’t get out of school til June 24th. We have one graduating high school (um, hopefully) and one “graduating” fifth grade. The fifth grade promotion ceremony lasts longer than the high school graduation. I am not making this up. Three. Hours. The middle school, to which they are being promoted, is at the end of the exact same block where their current elementary school is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

