Sunday Post 20: An Acre of Bed

Posted by Danny

I miss her the most at night.  I think that’s why I stay up so late.  I just can’t bring myself to go into that room and face the night alone.

When we added on to the house about five years ago, we were excited to build a new master bedroom.  It’s a nice room with built-in bookshelves and a large walk in closet.  Lisa got 2/3 for her clothes; I took what was left.  Most of her things are still there, although I moved them to the back so I could have the prime real estate.  Sometimes I’ll pull  out a dress I never really liked and put it on the dining room table.  When my parents come to town, they know to take those things with them.  I’m not sure where they go – not sure what they do with them.  Not sure I want to know.

I used to complain because she left a ton of clothes on the chair in the front of the closet by her dresses.  By the end of the week, it was like a Grand Garment Teton. 

Now I stack my clothes there.  Yes, Mr. Clean has his own Teton.  Maybe I just can’t stand the sight of the bottom of the chair.  I’d seldom seen it before.

After construction began on our addition, we walked in the uncompleted space and began to measure for our furniture.  Lisa said that she didnt’ think we’d ever be able to fit a king size bed in the new space and wondered if we should build out another four or five feet in case we decided to get a bigger bed.

“No” I insisted.  “I don’t want you that far away from me.  I like to hear you breathe.”

There’s no breath now.  The warmth of her body is gone.  Often I don’t even pull the covers back on that side of the bed – it’s more like a single that way.

I feel like I’m sleeping on an acre of land –

She is so far away. 

Hold your spouse tonight.  Listen to her breath.  Snuggle.  Revel in your cramped quarters. 

Take advantage of every second you have together.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Steve Gill

     /  May 29, 2011

    I really enjoyed this post most of all and since Lisa’s “Race To Heaven” I often thought about my wife in a much different way. “What if?” …. and then I decide to make a better effort to do what I need to do to make the day better for her. I’m still not there yet, but the thought of having my wife “Racing To Heaven” some day has me stopping in my tracks and just remembering that I am so blessed. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 29, 2011

      Work hard to make sure you have no regrets – thankfully I didn’t.

      Reply
  2. King

     /  May 30, 2011

    Hmmmm… I got up from bed tonight. Actually I never got into bed tonight. I thought I’d reread and respond to an email from my brother who never writes. Instead I resent a question to the other brother who never responds. And then read your newly minted latest post. I don’t usually read your posts hot off the press. Instead they are found pages deep in my list of unread mail, then opened and pondered.

    Tonight, was different. And your thoughts were strangely apropos.

    I’ve come to avoid the marital bed. The space in that sexless bed also feels like an acre, an acre between me and my wife. The absence of touch, tenderness, temptation, and passion stretches between us… chill, crisp, brittle. Night is tidy and unpleasant. Softness and warmth, I try to remind myself, or try not to remind myself.

    I watched her wake this morning, her eyes opening to the day, appreciating her qualities and abilities. And now it’s night. I’ll try again, Danny. All else can wait. Let me go back to bed, snuggle, listen to her breathe, hold her tight. And wonder how long we have together.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 30, 2011

      Get back in the bed – and make sure she knows how you feel. Put it on the table – no regrets.

      Reply
  3. Paige T

     /  June 2, 2011

    Alright dude, I so needed the gentle reminder. Mr Man is already asleep, but I will sneak in ever so gently on our acre and be thankful. Thanks for the sweet tears.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

