Chilean Pastel De Choclo

Chilean Pastel De Choclo, the finished product

Posted by Danny

I really try not to brag about handling my new life and there are a couple of reasons for my humility.  First, there are a lot of people who have tougher situations than I have who do a much better job of holding down their fort.  Second, sometimes it may look good on the outside but what can’t be seen by the naked eye ain’t too pretty.  Tonight I wrote checks for graduation pictures – I’ve had the forms for months and the check was due Friday.  I’ll plead for mercy tomorrow and hope that I didn’t blow this one.

But there was a night a week or so ago that I was pretty proud of what I accomplished.

1.  Picked two kids up at 5 from piano.

2. Showered and dressed the youngest for cotillion, including fashion tips and assistance with hair.

3.  Threw in a critical load of laundry.

4.  Made a spaghetti casserole and threw it in the oven on the way out the door.

5.  Dropped a kid at cotillion.

6.  Spent 45 minutes at the park practicing lacrosse with the other two kids followed by a trip to their favorite convenience store for a cold Gatorade – blue of course.  This was a stretch for me because I don’t like spending money on inconsequential stuff like drinks.  That’s why God made water.  But Lisa would have done the Quick Stop thing and I’m trying to fill that niche.  But $4 for two drinks – geeze.

7.  Picked Michelle up, finished dinner, cleaned up the dishes and helped Stephanie with math and her Wordly Wise spelling  homework.

This was the recipe – I should have known better

8.  Reviewed Cotillion manners – did you know that the napkin goes beside the fork?  “No one should ever have to lift their fork to get to their napkin.”

9.  Was reminded by Stephanie that we had to take a dish to school the following day for the international festival.  She pulled out the recipe:  Chilean Pastel De Choclo.  It included the following ingredients:  milk, corn, basil, sugar (divided, how do you divide sugar?  It’s already pretty small.), chicken broth, onions, red peppers, carrots, pepper, garlic cloves, bay leaves, chicken breast and parsley.  Surprisingly, we had most of the ingredients and the ones we didn’t have did not seem to be that significant.  Went to TOWN, Emeril Lagasse style.

10.  Quizzed DJ on her vocab test.

11.  And finished the load of laundry – all by 9 pm.

Now, if your husband complains about cleaning up the kitchen, tell him to SUCK IT UP.  Let him spend an evening at the Tanner house.  He’ll come crying back to you on his hands and knees.

By the way, I asked Stephanie if her friends like the Chilean Pastel De Choclo.  She said, “I was the only one who tried it.”  I should have sent chips and salsa.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Francie Reding

     /  June 1, 2011

    You learned multi-tasking from the best, my friend!

    Reply
  2. Pastel De Choclo, along with everything else? I am super impressed.

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a really productive day. The dish looks good, too. (And I’m guessing you figured out what is meant by having the sugar be “divided” — that you’re going to use the total amount in multiple measures… ie, in more than one step, not adding ALL of the amount listed at once. 🙂

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  June 1, 2011

      It really did stump me for a second – appreciate the clarity.

      Reply
  4. Cleaning up in the kitchen is an extra! I’m just the sock wrangler! 🙂

    Reply
  5. The dish sounds good. Young people have a fear of unknown foods, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

