Sunday Post 20: Would you do it again?

Tonight as I was putting Stephanie to bed, and with tears in her eyes, she asked me, “Dad, if you had known that mom would get cancer and die, would you  have still married her?”

It’s interesting what the kids think about – especially at bedtime.  I wonder if she’s pondered that question before or if it just came to her tonight.

“That’s easy,” I replied – my eyes beginning to fill like hers.

“I would absolutely have married her even if I’d known she as going to die from cancer.  There are two reasons why.

First, your mom gave me the best 18 years of my life.  I would not trade those years for anything.  We laughed and had so much fun together.  And loved each other so much.  I’d never experienced that sort of love before.

Second, your mom and I had three amazing girls and you wouldn’t be our Stephanie if you weren’t made up of half me and half your mom.  You’re special because of the parts of us that make you up.  I wouldn’t trade you for anything.”

And my answer is true.  If given a choice – turn in the happy memories and be pain-free or keep the memories and suffer – I’d pick the latter any day.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. This is honest and beautiful!

    Reply
  2. Straight Up! Well written and a great answer for your daughter.

    Reply
  3. Good question. Great answer.

    Reply
  4. Wren

     /  June 8, 2011

    AMEN, BRUCE!! 18 years or two days – we’d take it too. (We’ve gotten “if Sarah had not have died, would I’ve been born?” “Who do you love more Sarah or me?”). So many blessings in their amazing & deep curiosity…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

