Sunday Post 24: Stuck in Reverse

Posted by Danny

We’re at Topsail beach this week with Lisa’s side of the family.  We’ve vacationed here, in the same rental house, for about a decade.  The owners aren’t much for redecorating so every piece of furniture, every kitchen utensil, every knickknack seems to symbolize a part of our past. 

My mother-in-law and I can picture Lisa doing the girls’ hair as she sat on the not very attractive off-white leather couch.  The floral vacation sheets I dig out of the trunk in our bedroom have seen years of sandy, slightly sunburned bodies.  The white 80’s style lace on the pillow cases matched the stack of t-shirts Lisa lived in this week.

4:00 – 7:00 pm is my absolute favorite time of the day on the beach.  The strong breeze seems to blow the summer heat away.  Not too cold, but cool enough.  Lisa knew I loved this time of day and each afternoon would head back outside with ice-cold drinks in hand.  We’d spend hours talking about the kids, dreaming of the future, planning our escape from the problems of life. 

Looking back on it, I realize we didn’t have any.

Today I sat alone – my thoughts consumed with her.

Lisa’s mom said she heard of a song entitled Stuck in Reverse.  Sometimes that’s where we all live. 

Grief is a circle; you move forward and circle back.  Perhaps not to the beginning, but sometimes mighty close. 

I’d give both of my eyes to have her back.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The song mentioned is a sad one, for sure. I can’t think of anything appropriate to say, except that I hope it gets better.

    Reply
  2. Helen LaVere

     /  July 3, 2011

    Sending love and wishing you peace.

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Tanner Tweets

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11.9K other subscribers
  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us