Cafe Risque…Seriously

Posted by Danny

I don’t really get that upset about what other’s do.  I’m fairly tolerant of those who are different from me and I really try not to judge.  The good lord knows I am far, very far, from perfect.

But tonight, driving back from Fayetteville on I-95, I became a bit ticked at something I’ve driven past for years:  Cafe Risque.

As Michelle and I rode down the interstate, she began to notice the billboards advertising this establishment.  “Dad, what’s Cafe Risk Que?”

“I don’t know baby – I’ve never been there.  I think it’s a restaurant of some sort.”

“Can we eat there?”

“I don’t think so.  I only have a credit card and my gut says they only take cash” probably just dollar bills.

“Why does the sign say Topless?” 

“Oh! Oh! That’s my favorite song!  Turn it up!  Let’s sing (and stop looking at the multiple signs for the topless bar.)”

The advertisements, and there are several, say “Adult Toys, DVDs, Topless – Topless, Good Food.”  Not only is it inappropriate, but who would eat there?  Sometimes I struggle with G-rated buffets, too many dressed people breathing on my food.  I picture Rosanne Barr’s television character as the waitress slopping cold plates of mac and cheese, her extremities dangling amongst the meal.

Several of these billboards have a photograph of a beautiful woman’s face giving a very provocative look.  I see it and think, “I sure hope her father lives on the west coast.” 

I am all for The First Amendment.  Adults should be able to make decisions for themselves and face the consequences of their actions when applicable.  But when other’s freedoms encroach on my 8-year-old, I think it’s gone too far.

Billboards with the word Topless or with silhouettes of naked women when on a major highway, in my opinion, are too much.  I should not have to explain the word risqué.  I should not have to distract my child in order to avoid telling her about bare chested women who serve spicy chicken wings to dudes who are looking for more than an appetizer. 

Keep your nasty shack on Exit 71 if you want to, but take the billboards down!  And let me decide when to educate my daughters on sensitive issues instead of forcing my hand!

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Mel Ham

     /  August 8, 2011

    You tell’em…well said. On a side note..one of the “topless signs” was ripped off during the tornados…and wound up about a mile away drapped across a barn in someone’s yard…the barn’s roof had been ripped off..and layed nicely across the huge opening where the roof was was the unharmed signed that says topless. It looks like a homeplace where grandparents would invite the entire family for sunday dinner…..

    If you get asked again you can tell Michelle..they seve their hamburgers without a bun..how crazy is that..but I agree..the pictures of the mud flap models leaves no innuendo…

    Reply
  2. April

     /  August 8, 2011

    Loss of innocence begins early in our society.
    April

    Reply
  3. Agreed! I hope the boys are distracted every time we pass through that section of I-95, or the parts in SC and GA that say, “We dare to bare.” I had to laugh on a recent trip, though, when a storm had apparently torn off part of the roof of a barn across the Interstate from the Cafe, and the owners had patched the roof with a big “Topless” sign! Oh, sweet irony….

    Reply
  4. Homestead Ramblings

     /  August 8, 2011

    Well said, dear man, well said!

    Reply
  5. Marian

     /  August 8, 2011

    I have been distracting my boys for years at this point in our drivw to SC. however this year, son number #2 almost strained his neck trying to get a better view….Often what the people of this community were thinking.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 8, 2011

      You probably have it worse than I do with teenage boys.

      Reply
  6. Preach on! I think our would could use some nips and tucks too.
    I’ve been in a similar situation with the grandchildren at times and I always think, this is the parents job to explain, not mine.

    Reply
  7. Definitely not the talk you want to have with your kids while on a road trip. Ickkk. We just took a trip (a ten hour car ride, too) and I was kind of shocked how many signs like this we saw and how over-the-top blatant they were.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 8, 2011

      it seems like there would be a more tactful way to advertise…

      Reply
  8. Sarah LF

     /  August 8, 2011

    When leaving Houston on the way to Galveston there is a club called Heartbreakers. Right above it is a billboard from a local church that reads, “Jesus heals the broken hearted.” One of my favorites.

    Reply
  9. I agree parents should get to teach their children when the children are ready for it and not have the world tell us when. Mom and Dad know their children best! No one else does!

    Reply
  10. Amy

     /  August 8, 2011

    Your timing is incredible…this just happened to my family on the way to WFU on Sunday. My oldest had a baseball game and my 10 yr old was reading the signs for “Club Risque” on Hwy 52. By the third sign and question number five, I was having many of the same thoughts you were. Ugh! I did my best to crank Disney channel and stifle the giggles of my 15 yr old and husband.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 8, 2011

      I was glad DJ wasn’t in the car – she would have made it worse.

      Reply
  11. Aunt Susan

     /  August 8, 2011

    you know, danny, i first read this post a while back, and since then i find myself thinking over and over, he better listen carefully to offspring 1 and 2 because 3 is so seriously going to give you a VERY interesting life!

    Reply
  12. owen widman

     /  August 14, 2011

    I agree 100%

    Reply
  1. More good stuff | Read Me

Leave a Reply

