Sunday Post 30: Shame on us!

Posted by Danny

Tonight I made bar-b-que chicken in the crock pot with corn on the cob, salad, bread and cowboy beans (they’re really, really good).  I was celebrating the return of the two oldest who have been at Camp Seafarer – one for two weeks, the other for four. 

When dinner was over, I had a huge Tupperware container of the poultry left and threw several cobs in the trash.  The leftover bread will sit in a bag on the counter until I toss it later in the week.

Last Tuesday, Michelle and I ate at El Rodeo Mexican restaurant.  We ate two baskets of chips and salsa before our meal arrived.  I had to lay down when I got home because it was uncomfortable for me to bend.

On our way back from camp today, we stopped at Chic Fil A, my favorite fast food restaurant.  Stephanie and Michelle both ordered six piece nugget kids’ meals.  They each ate three, six were left (don’t worry, I took care of them but I’m still struggling to bend).

I’ve been thinking a lot about food since last Wednesday night when I tuned in to Anderson Cooper.  He was in Somalia and shared about the famine there.  Did you know –

*29,000 kids have died from starvation since this famine began

*Mothers are taking their children and walking to refugee camps in the hopes that they will find food.  Some walk for two weeks to get to the camp which is overrun.  Yes, they walk 14 or 15 days in blistering heat and when they get there, many are turned away.  They simply can’t handle the volume of people who need assistance. 

*One mother arrived at camp and took her baby out of the pouch on her back.  The baby had died and the mother didn’t even realize it.

What I can’t understand is how I can waste food, day in and day out, while people who live on the same planet as I do starve.  They starve to death.

I pray for them daily and I gave $50.00 to CARE – pathetic.  Shame on me!  Shame on us!  We’re the richest, smartest nation on this earth and we can’t figure out how to take the money that we waste on food and get it over to people who have absolutely nothing to eat?  Come on – let’s do more.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Check out World Vision, World Relief, and Samaritans Purse good organizations doing what they can with what they are given to help those in need.

    Reply
  2. Helen LaVere

     /  August 14, 2011

    I click on The Hunger Site daily and give $35/month to Mercy Corps. I know we keep them in our prayers, but like you would like to find a way to know what we do really has some kind of impact on their lives. Thanks for a thought-provoking Sunday school lesson.

    Reply
  3. Susan

     /  August 15, 2011

    I hardly ever have the TV on and I happened to see this piece on CNN while on vacation. Heartbreaking.

    Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  August 15, 2011

    Now you understand why I give Heifer Project gifts. They help people not only raise food, but care for it and pass it on to others. This also allows those folks improve their life styles and living as well. It may not seem like a lot, but it does go a long, long way.

    Reply
  5. I’m sorry I missed the Anderson Cooper story. One of his very first national (international) stories was one he did in the late 1990s for one of those news services that targeted schools (Channel One News?). He flew to Somalia on his own dime and produced a long (for TV news) “one man band” story on the famine and political turmoil at that time. It was shown at a seminar of TV news directors I was attending as an example of a non-traditional story for a local newscast. It is a true tragedy that more than ten years later, the story in Somalia is much the same.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 16, 2011

      they actually showed footage of that story on his show last week. he was really, really young. it’s amazing we’re still dealing with this problem twenty years later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

