Curly Brush?

Posted by Danny

The last few years of her life, Lisa had her hair done by a guy named Chris.  She said he could work wonders.  I remember her coming home and me saying “How’d he make your hair look like that?”  Looking back on it, I can see how that might have come across as your hair doesn’t usually look that great, although that is not necessarily what I meant.  He could just take an A and make it an A+!

One time she left home with fairly big hair.  When she returned, it was short and straight.  Again I questioned, “Are you wearing a wig?”

“No.”

“How’d he do that?”

“He put some expensive product in my hair and took a big round brush and blew dry it straight.”

“Can you do that?”

“Not like him.”

“Could I help you?”

“Seriously?  You’re going to do my hair?”

She never took me up on my offer and I actually preferred her hair more flowy, but the change was nice for a while.

Last week Stephanie’s Nana took her to get a haircut.  They decided to go with a shorter look and it is really, really cute.  It’s sort of “stacked” on the back and drapes longer in the front. 

But a strange thing happened one day about a week later.  On this particular day, the top layer of her hair seemed to rebel.  It grew bigger and didn’t seem to be in sync with the bottom layer. 

I’m not really sure what happened, and it didn’t seem to be a consistent phenomena.  My hair and Jesse’s hair seems to be fairly consistent.  It looks the same at 8 am and at 8 pm.  Our hair is similar in winter, spring, summer and fall – rain, sleet or snow.  But the girls’ hair has personality; sort of moody, like a child. 

DJ told me that if she brushed her hair when it was in curly mode she’d look like a lion.  I haven’t seen that but I’d like to. 

As I ran my fingers through Stephanie’s disobedient hair, the thought of Chris and his round hairbrush came to mind. 

“Steph, we’re gonna try something.  Do we have a hair dryer?”

“What are you doing dad?”

“Just trust me.”

“With my hair?”

“Yep.”

“DJ!  Do you have that stuff to make your hair calm?”

“I think I’m out.”

“Well look.  We’re trying an experiment on Stephanie’s hair.”

“As long as it’s hers.”

“Found some.”

“Do you have a round brush?”

“Yep.”

I collected my tools and we headed to the bathroom.  I scooped out some hair goop.

“That stuff makes my hair stiff,” Stephanie complained.

“It’s magic baby.  Magic!”

It took both hands to get the hair around the brush so I had to hold the dryer under my neck.  It was a little uncomfortable, but we made do.

After just 10 minutes, her hair was dry and every strand was in place.  She went to bed and I held my breath:  what would tomorrow bring?

When she woke, to our amazement, her hair was calm, cool and collected – following all of the rules.   No frizz in sight!  The top layer embracing the bottom layer is if they were identical twins.

Where ever you are Chris, I thank you!  Another tool in our toolbox if needed.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Jenean

     /  August 29, 2011

    You are such a good Dad!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Anna Turley

     /  August 29, 2011

    You are such a sweet and amazing Dad! I love her hair!

    Reply
  3. Sarah LF

     /  August 29, 2011

    You never cease to amaze me. Go dad!

    Reply
  4. Leslie Davis

     /  August 29, 2011

    Too funny! Love it- and just so you know, brad’s hair is not the same morning, noon, and night. He can give a lion ( albeit a greying lion) a run for his money!

    Reply
  5. Hopie

     /  August 29, 2011

    You are seriously the best Dad ever!! The first thing I told her when I saw her last night was how cute her haircut was — good luck with the routine with school in full swing!

    Reply
  6. You are such a good dad! The one time my dad had to do my hair, I went to school in tears – it was picture day and my hair looked ridiculous. Luckily I had a wonderful teacher who fixed it for me 🙂

    Reply
  7. Melanie Walker

     /  August 29, 2011

    Bruce, I’ll show you how to do the round brush with one hand so you don’t burn your neck. Nice work!

    Reply
  8. Aunt Susan

     /  August 30, 2011

    ask you f-n-l aobut the time he fixed my hair! the girls should count their blessings, but I would love to see the lionness do!

    Reply
  1. How Make Magic Baby

Leave a Reply

