Waiting for the All Clear

Posted by Danny

I got a call from DJ’s orthodontist on Saturday; she’s a very good friend of ours.   She had been trying to find a time that we could meet to catch up.  Our calendars wouldn’t mesh.  I said, “Is there something you need to tell me?”

“Well, yes.  It is no big deal!” she strongly stated.

“Give it to me.”

“There is a round white dot on DJ’s x-ray – it could be several things, none of them serious, but I think you should get it checked out.  In fact, I’ve talked to a friend who is an ENT and he can see you next week.”  She then proceeded to reassure me it was nothing serious and explained the four logical things the spot could represent.

“Why does this spot need to be checked out?”

“It could perhaps be making it more difficult for DJ to breath out of her nose.”

“Do you see this in other patients?”

“Similar things.  I just haven’t seen a round spot exactly like this in the front of the nose (she used layman’s terms for me).  But this is not something to worry about.  Go see him next week so we can figure out exactly what it is.”

I didn’t know how fearful I’d become. 

Before we discovered Lisa had colon cancer, we were assured her stomach issues were not serious.  We’d read on the web that stage 4 colon cancer was deadly but our physicians would tell us incredible stories of those who had survived.  We heard, on multiple occasions, from seasoned oncological professionals, “I have never seen this before.”   I guess it was natural that even though a dear friend I trust and respect immensely told me not to worry, I did.

What was I expecting?  Colon cancer that had spread to the nose?

Ridiculous – and yet it did cross my mind.  I thought to myself, I know this won’t be serious because it says that God won’t give you more than you can handle – and I can’t handle anymore.

We were blessed this time.  With the help of friends and with some medical professionals’ coveted cell phone numbers, we were able to get an answer within about 48 hours of learning about this issue (and she is fine).  That is not the case for many.

There are those among us waiting for an answer.  There are those who go back for a checkup every six months to find out if the cancer has come back.  And they hold their breath in fear, just like I did today. 

I know there have been times that someone has shared with me that they were waiting for a result.  It went in one ear and out the other.  I had no idea how scary waiting could be.  I do now.  And I’ll be more caring and more empathetic, understanding the places your mind can go as you wait for the all clear.

(Thank you to the best orthodontist and ENT in Raleigh!  You’re an answer to prayer.)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Glad all is okay!

    Reply
  2. Aunt Susan

     /  September 28, 2011

    Wow, some things just aren’t fathomable. Is she okay and feeling good now? Are you? I do think of you all every day,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12,035 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us