A Christmas Carol, Week 2: A Performer In the Making

Posted by Danny

Week two is complete, but I made a couple of snafus.

There’s a lot to keep in mind when you’re a star…

At my age, learning that many words to that many songs is a significant challenge.  It took me three months to commit to memory the name of the woman at the front desk at work.  We’d had so many float through there, I didn’t even ask what her name was until she’d been there six weeks.  I don’t have space in my brain to memorize the names of temporary employees.  I think my head holds 542 names.  If one comes in, one must go out.  So I choose wisely.

Because I can’t quite remember every word, I have been one of only a few cast members walking through practice with the musical score (note: a lot of the cast are returners).  That’s OK, except twice this week I’ve had my nose in the book, reading my music, and forgotten to leave the stage on cue.  When I finally looked up, there I was, center stage…with Scrooge.  I know the man thinks I’m a fool or trying to horn in on his act.  Fortunately, he’s more patient in rehearsals than his character in the performance. 

Shuffle/Ball/Change is apparently a dance move.  At first I thought I was golden:  Cards/Sports/Money.  That was not what she meant.  I’m gonna master that move – been practicing in the kitchen, and the bedroom, and…the office.  Got caught near the copier the other day by a coworker.  Told her I saw a roach.  I’m not going to do that any more. 

My strategy for now is to stand in the back of the stage (that’s actually called upstage for you audience lubbers), behind Jesse – he’s pretty tall.

Some things I do well.  I think Scrooge is impressed with my circular hip swerve when we sing “Daylight Come and Me Want To Go  Home” (some of you are surprised that tune is in Charles Dickens – you should come see, it’s quite interesting!)  I did win the soul train line talent show in 6th grade because of a couple of mighty hip thrusts.  I’m Elvisish.

Other than the wonderful people and just plain old fun, I think what I’m enjoying the most about A Christmas Carol  is laughing with my girls.  We’re driving down the street listening to the CD and singing our parts.  The other day Michelle was singing a Christmas Carol tune to me in a restaurant.  We’ve practiced dance moves together.  They’ve told me I was pathetic after watching me wander around the stage in oblivion.

At our break on Thursday night, Michelle and Stephanie made it a point to find me to tell me I had gone the wrong way during the Tango number.  I quickly informed them that I figured that out all on my own.  It was obvious when fifty-nine people went to the right and I went left.  But I’m making progress, I didn’t run into anyone this time.

Smart alec kids.  I don’t point out every time they make a mistake, why must they?

We sure are having fun!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Mel ham

     /  October 17, 2011

    that stephanie is the face of Lisa…straight on…I see Lisa’s logic in DJ…and Michelle has that thing that look Lisa gave…Really? Are you doing that?…eye brows come together wrinkles the nose ..then eye roll…Sounds like yal are having fun and doing great…miss you mel

    Reply
  2. Homestead Ramblings

     /  October 17, 2011

    🙂 What a good dad you are!

    Reply
  3. charlotte gregory

     /  October 17, 2011

    I’m hoping to sneak in to view a rehearsal the Monday after Thanksgiving since I won’t get to see the real thing live.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  October 17, 2011

      I’m not sure they’ll let you. You may just have to take my words as your picture of the action!

      Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  October 17, 2011

    Mel nailed it, the kids look just like Lisa, esp steph. I cannot wait to see the show.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

