We ain’t bad and we ain’t cocky

Posted by Danny

One of my most memorable experiences from high school occurred when I was in 9th grade.

I was new to Terry Sanford Senior High School in Fayetteville, NC, and I had no idea what would happen as I entered the gymnasium for my first pep rally.  We all piled in on the bleachers, large dust bunnies perched beneath our wooden seats.  I’m not exactly sure what was pumped from the large boom box Miss Cherry, our PE teacher, had propped on the stage steps.  Probably Another One Bites The Dustby Queen.

We must have had a strong booster club because our cheerleaders had a number of uniforms.  I don’t remember them all, but I clearly remember the one they were wearing on this day:  short white skirts with gingham checked vests that buttoned up the front. 

As they began their cheer, they jumped to the beat:

We ain’t bad and we ain’t cocky

We’re gonna drive over you like a Kawasaki

Vroom – Vroom

As they were driving over us like a Kawasaki, our head cheerleader’s top button popped and other things followed.  I was in awe.  The only two bras I’d seen prior to this event were my mom’s and my grandmother’s – and this one was nothing like theirs! 

 “I think I’m gonna like this place,” I quipped to my buddy sitting beside me.

Unfortunately, those are the thoughts that jump into my mind when I see my daughters cheer.  Only this time, my perspective has changed.

Stephanie is on her first squad this year.  She’s cheering for the middle school basketball team.  I’m so proud of her I could bust.  She’s got rhythm, and she’s pretty darn confident in front of a crowd.  She gets her rhythm from her mother, a former show choir participant.  And no one in this family is short on confidence.

This is her first pep rally – fortunately, there was nothing for a zit faced boy to enjoy other than the dancing, chanting and music. 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Mel ham

     /  October 24, 2011

    ah…it’s that g6..or cheese stix..like a cheese stix song….Cam and Carlin continue to correct us when that song comes on …like a cheese stick like a cheese stick…love it…You tell this story so good. Funny what we remember. love much mel

    Reply
  2. Aunt Susan

     /  October 24, 2011

    Why did you let her get to middle school? I ‘m still struggling with D.J. being in high school!!!
    and that’s the truth about confidence! wow! you all just oozzze it.!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

