Pigs A Plenty

Dad's i phone background picture - you know he wants one

Posted by DJ

We are getting a pig.

Yes – this is legal in Raleigh, if it weighs less than 100 lbs and is shorter than 22 inches in height. I’ve done my research.

It’s Dad’s fault.  He came home and told all three of his daughters about how his friend had recently gotten a pig for her birthday.  Then he admitted he really wanted one.

Normally when we bring up pets, specifically dogs, he just screams “NO!” and the conversation is over.  I know he really wants a pig because he brought it up and does not completely refute the idea when it is discussed.

Jesse and I have it all planned out.  It will stay in a crate in the backyard playhouse with a chicken wire fence surrounding it, built by Uncle Jesse.  In the winter it will stay in the basement hallway, out of the way of house guests.

Dad asks, “Who will take care of it when we are out-of-town?”

Jesse  responded, “Seriously? I would feel bad for asking anyone if they would take care of my huge dog for the next week.  But a pig?  People would gladly volunteer to take care of your pig because that just doesn’t happen everyday.”

Jesse also decided when we got a pig it would have to be pink.  “None of those brown or black pigs,” he said.  I thought that was pretty funny; he’s not usually the type to care.

Dad may say we are not getting a pig, but we totally are.  It will happen, and when it does we will need plenty of volunteer babysitters.  Leave a comment if you are in favor of this notion or if you will pig sit for us.  After all it’s not a childhood without a pet.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Dave K

     /  November 7, 2011

    I will be glad to keep your pig for a while once he is big and yummy!

    Reply
  2. I vote yes on the pig because all the cool people have one…like George Clooney. Sign me up to babysit too!

    Reply
  3. Wren

     /  November 7, 2011

    Dear DJ ~
    1) If it’s pink, I’ll pig sit…and we live close by
    2) I hope it’s a female pig
    3) You are an excellent writer ~ keep it up!!

    Reply
  4. Kim

     /  November 7, 2011

    I say go for it! Ms. Piggy here we come! I will buy her a cute outfit! Ms. B 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sarah LF

     /  November 7, 2011

    I’m in but only if I can house sit, too. Alex would love it. You could charge money to come visit the pig to offset the cost of piano lessons.

    Reply
    • Sarah LF

       /  November 7, 2011

      I mean, if ANY family should have a pig it should be the HAM fam. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Fran Yohman

     /  November 7, 2011

    I think baby-sitting a pig would be fun.
    Call on me.

    Fran

    Reply
  7. Katie Martin

     /  November 7, 2011

    I completely agree with your uncle. I would relish the opportunity to watch your pig, mostly so I could say things like:
    “I’m sorry I have to leave your party early, I have to go walk the pig.”
    “I wish I could, but I’m pig-sitting this weekend.”
    “Hello, police? I was feeding my friend’s pig and it got out. Can you issue a pig alert?”
    I really, really hope you get that pig!

    Reply
  8. Lynn Moss

     /  November 7, 2011

    I’m in!

    Reply
  9. Allison Simmons

     /  November 7, 2011

    I vote “Yes!” for sevearl reasons:
    1) your Mom really, really, really thought people should always vote!
    2) that pig will have so much fun with the horses, two goats and kittens at the Seafarer barn
    3) it will distract your father from his opinions about whether or not you should buy another pair of shoes, etc.

    Reply
  10. Charlotte Gregory

     /  November 7, 2011

    Now to rain on your pig parade, but I can think of at least two reasons why no living creature should ever enter the Ham house: JW and Miss Piggy. Don’t even get me started on the countless hermit crabs who met their maker on Dellwood Dr. As far as I can tell, your house is where small mammals and crustaceans go to live sad, lonely lives of neglect and boredom before quietly expiring. I’m a big animal lover and I just call it like I see it. I can promise you that no pig wants to live in the hallway of a dark basement. Just ask the aforementioned rodents. Oh, that’s right, you can’t because they’re dead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You know I love you guys, and I do think that having a pet is a great thing, but you will have to come up with a better plan and convince me that you really understand what having a pig that lives in your house (the part where the people are, not the basement) will really be like before I get on board. Once you do that I will be thrilled to spend time with it because those little tiny pigs really are ridiculously cute.

    Reply
  11. Homestead Ramblings

     /  November 7, 2011

    Uh Oh, here comes some fun. Great article by the way. Can I suggest something? Do a whole lot of research before biting this particular bullet. As a former owner of such a thing, I love their vast amount of intellegence, they are the smartest of hooved animals. But. . .they have an very strong “after-market-smell” if you catch my drift. Enough to melt your nose-hairs. And, they love to root up things, like tiles on your kitchen floor, carpets, etc. Google away dear writer and perhaps Dad will go for the dog after all. 🙂

    Reply
  12. Oh wow! That sounds like a really great idea. 🙂 The best part is looking forward to the future blog posts about the inevitable misadventures. I can’t wait!

    Reply
  13. Aunt Susan

     /  November 7, 2011

    Only one? when you go away it would be lonely, you need two! and since there are 3 of you, my “greats” i think 3 would be better, then you can get all the colors. But really I must agree with Charlotte, really, really think about it then go to the pound for an adult dog. But remember a dog is a lot like having another kid!

    Proud of you and your role in “carol” cannot wait to see you all in costume

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 7, 2011

      There will be a post to follow next week explain why in the heck we aren’t getting a dag gone pig!!! (Although I’ll have to say they are really, very cute)

      Reply
  14. Eva

     /  November 8, 2011

    DJ~

    I work with your dad and I would totally love to pig sit. Sign me up.

    Eva Hobson

    Reply
  15. Aunt Susan

     /  November 8, 2011

    Danny, you have so many sitters volunteering, are you sure you don’t want one?

    No I am not offering

    Reply
  16. If you get a pig before the show is over you HAVE to bring him/her to a rehearsal!!!

    Reply
  17. Margo Metzger

     /  November 9, 2011

    I really want a pig, but Ken won’t let me get one. We already have two dogs and 5 chickens, so I figure a pig would round things out nicely. But if you get a pig, I will gladly take care of it!

    Reply
  18. You would have to name this pig Comet – since that was the Golden’s name on the show. Just sayin’. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

