NO PIGS ALLOWED!

Posted by Danny

We are not getting a doggone pig!

I can’t believe I told the girls that my friend got a pet pig for her birthday.  They’ve been hounding me for an animal for years.  I need a pig like I need a gaping head wound.

I did NOT change my i phone background to a photo of a pig as DJ contends.  When I turned it on yesterday (in a business meeting), there it was –  a swine staring me in my face.  I was startled!  I almost snorted.

DJ has it all figured out.  She knows exactly where it will live, what it eats and how much the food will cost.  She even reminded me that female pigs have periods – NOT a selling point!  Can you imagine?  How do you handle that?

She claims they are very smart and can be trained to use a litter box – but the idea of a box of hog poo sitting in the corner of the den is also not a selling point.  Nasty; just nasty.

I will say, however, that if I was going to get an animal, it would be a pig.  How cool would it be to walk one of those around the block?  Lisa started collecting pigs years ago – we have them throughout our house.  We also have fifty or so pig Christmas ornaments.  If she were alive and found out a pig was a viable pet, there is no doubt in my mind we’d have one.

I wonder if we could try one out?  Unlike a dog, if it didn’t work, we could always just serve it up for breakfast.  I probably have a sausage maker in my utensil cabinet but just can’t identify it.

No!  We’re not going there!  I can barely take care of myself – much less three kids and a sow.

(Posted by DJ:  Broke into Dad’s blog account…we ARE getting a pig!)

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Susan

     /  November 14, 2011

    Gee, I heard weeks ago that you were most definitely getting a pig!

    Reply
  2. No words can say how much I love your family! Too funny.

    Reply
  3. Michele Schneider

     /  November 14, 2011

    I giggled today as I passed a double decker truck full of pink little pigs. The Tanners came right to mInd!! A little rescue perhaps?

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 14, 2011

      Don’t even think about us when you see pigs! It can’t happen!

      Reply
  4. Eating Penelope…not a good Idea. I heard that would be her name. I guess that didn’t help much? 😉

    Reply
  5. Aunt Susan

     /  November 14, 2011

    but you have so many volunteers to pig sit! and your sister in law is good with animals, and your m-i-l would take care of it at her house, don’t you think?

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  November 14, 2011

    p.s. good job with the phone girls!

    Reply
  7. K. B. (Danny's friend with a pig!!!!)

     /  November 15, 2011

    I am totally cracking up … can’t wait to see how this one turns out!!!

    Reply
  8. Andee

     /  November 15, 2011

    I’m not making this up: A friend asked us a couple of weeks ago if we knew anyone who wanted a pig. Seems her brother rescued a pig that fell off a truck in front of him on a stormy night. They have diligently been looking for a home for her. She is staying at their home in Goldsboro, and they named her “Prissy”. Just in case you (or DJ) are interested.

    Reply
  9. This is good. Is anyone taking bets on who wins this one?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

