Cardboard for Christmas

Posted by Danny

I need a box.  A great big box.  Because that’s what Michelle wants for Christmas.

I came home the other day and she handed me her “Christmas Chart.”  On the left side of her graph were the numbers 0 – 100, listed in descending order by tens.  across the bottom of the page she listed her Christmas desires. 

She then rated each requested gift with a number value and wrote whether it was a need or a want.

Scarfs (sic) were rated a 50 and classified as a need.

A Justin Bieber doll was rated a 90 and classified as a want.

New stationary received a 40 and was definitely a need.

But a cardboard box?  It rated 100 and had bright green hash marks surrounding the “want” classification.

I said “Michelle, why do you want a box for Christmas?”

Her glare at me said it all – does this man have an imagination? 

“Well, for starters, I plan to decorate it with paint and colored markers.  I will then turn it over and use it as a playhouse.  My friend Ben actually had two at his house.  It was so cool.”

She had a point.  There are times this past year that I would have liked to sit under a box – maybe she’ll let me borrow it.

Based on my other children’s wish list, I’m guessing this could be the last Christmas that I can get away with a winning gift that won’t cost me a penny.  This is my Christmas dream. 

But where in the heck am I going to find a large box?  I’m thinking something that a stove might come in.  It would really burst my bubble if I had to buy a kitchen appliance to fulfill my child’s greatest Christmas desire.  But if the damn oven drawer keeps falling out every time I grab a pot, I may be in the market.

Assuming that doesn’t happen, if you have any suggestions of where Santa could get some help with some major cardboard, please let me know.  I’m sure Uncle Jesse would drive a few miles with me to pick it up. 

And if you knock on my door after December 26 and no one answers, I’m probably upstairs in the Kenmore box.

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Mel ham

     /  December 5, 2011

    What a creative soul that girl is…I would give a big box to have an ounce of the originality and creativity that child has been blessed with…mel

    Reply
  2. Melanie Walker

     /  December 5, 2011

    We used to use old voting booth boxes after an election – our neighbor had voting in their garage. It was SO much fun. I think I would try an appliance store b/c they have to have boxes for the floor models. Love that girl’s thinking.

    Reply
  3. Mom

     /  December 5, 2011

    I love it! Do we all get to use the Kenmore box? It sounds like a winner to me. She will have the best time decorating it. She is so artistic that this will probably be the most fun she’s had in a long time. What a kid!

    Reply
  4. We were able to get several large boxes from an appliance store on Capital Blvd. Call ahead and they will set them aside for you. Good luck!!!

    Reply
  5. Darcy

     /  December 5, 2011

    One of our neighbors will have a dishwasher box for you Dec 15! I’ll walk it over unless you need it to be hidden somewhere until Dec 25.

    Reply
  6. Love this! Cardboard boxes are the best!!

    Reply
  7. Susan S

     /  December 5, 2011

    Mark my words…Michelle is going to be a scientist just like her aunt! She is expressing herself in graphs! This to me looks like a very sensible Christmas list. I am going to suggest her method to my children.

    Reply
  8. Cindi L.

     /  December 5, 2011

    Go to Home Depot or Lowe’s. I would suggest a refrigerator box and a stove or dishwasher box. Those really large refrigerators that have a huge pullout drawer for the freezer and 2 big sides for the fridge part would have awesome boxes. With several boxes, you can tape them together to make a castle or huge house/fort/whatever.

    I would probably include some type of spray primer to cover the words on the boxes and then new paint or markers as a part of the gift.

    You might could even check with a furniture store to see if they have any boxes.

    Reply
  9. Jean Boykin

     /  December 5, 2011

    Wow! That chart is impressive!!!
    BTW The show yesterday was great! Thanks to your picture here on the blog in costume, I may have spotted you. Were you dancing with a woman in a red shawl in the opening scene? : )
    Jean

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  December 5, 2011

      First, did the guy dancing with the woman in the red shawl look like he knew what he was doing? If so, it was definately me. If not, it was probably Uncle Jesse.

      Reply
      • Jean Boykin

         /  December 5, 2011

        Well, he looked like he pretty much knew what he was doing, but then my eye sight’s not what it used to be. : )
        One other thing….when I sat down and started to look at my program…the cast list, I started laughing. Asked myself what I was looking for…there wasn’t going to be a single Tanners or Katsoplis on the list!!! LOL

      • Danny Tanner

         /  December 6, 2011

        I’ll take that! And yea – we went with our real names – as opposed to realfullhouse names!

  10. ashlea

     /  December 5, 2011

    We have some big leftover moving boxes if she wants to create a whole castle!

    Reply
  11. Places that sell storage unit space sell boxes! We bought one for our daughter years ago and it was the best $10 ever spent! It was HUGE!

    Reply
  12. Aunt Susan

     /  December 5, 2011

    Definately go to a U-haul store, and get more than one, she can have a basement and an attic. Or checkout Hearthsong, they have some ready to be colored in, but I think she would like to do her own. Love the graphing, can she come down and teach my class?
    Cannot wait to see the show Saturday!

    Reply
  13. Chris and Christine Lowder

     /  December 5, 2011

    The Lowder’s can come up with a Jacuzzi box and get it to the Hughes Supply on Yonkers Road in Raleigh if needed. Just let us know. Great job on Sunday!!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  December 5, 2011

      that sounds tempting. i think i have your email – will connect via facebook or email later this week. thanks!

      Reply
  14. Fran Yohman

     /  December 6, 2011

    Ashley is getting a new dishwasher today. Do you want the box?

    Fran

    Reply
  15. Wren

     /  December 6, 2011

    Dang ~ she really thinks out of the box! Love it & maybe you or Jesse could jump out of it on Christmas morning. Or the pig!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

