The “Selfie”

Posted by Danny

I know some of you who read this blog.  You just aren’t that cool (dad).  So I thought I’d bring you up to speed on a new fad.

I knew that my iPhone had a camera, and you probably know that too.  But when you put it in photo mode, there is an icon at the top of the screen that allows you to reverse the lens.  And when you do that, you can take a picture of yourself!  The screen actually becomes a mirror so you can pose as you deem appropriate.

After Stephanie showed me this feature, I told DJ I was taking some self portraits.  She informed me that when you take a picture of yourself, it is called a “selfie.”  She also said it was not cool to take “selfies” unless you were doing it for fun.  Apparently serious “selfies” are not hip at all.  Want to be a dork?  Post a bunch of serious “selfies” on Facebook

I’m glad I didn’t do that.

Instead, on Saturday when I was waiting in a parking lot for Stephanie to finish cheerleading practice, I texted a few “selfies” to DJ who was on a ski trip.

Here are some of my works:

I call this one Sideburn Selfie.

 

This is entitled nostril selfie (note – no cavities).

And finally, Chelfie (short for Chin Selfie).

DJ texted back:  Get a life.

What she doesn’t realize is that finding ways to drive my children nuts is my life. 

So, take a “selfie” today, and text it to your kid or post it on Facebook.  I  promise it’ll make you incredibly cool.

Next Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Mel ham

     /  January 23, 2012

    No nose hairs…good!…now waiting on the ear shelfie for inspection…Good gooming…Little gray in the side burns…that’s distinguished. Guessing you have a magnified mirror or DJ is staying on top of those things that Lisa plucked while you were driving…Love much mel

    Reply
  2. Mel ham

     /  January 23, 2012

    I meant selfie not shelfie…shelfie is where the elfie sits during christmas…my mistake!

    Reply
  3. Mom

     /  January 23, 2012

    I’m sure you made DJ’s day. She just doesn’t want to admit it. It’s hard when you have a cool Dad.

    Reply
  4. You have made my list of heroes!

    Reply
  5. Hahaha! Chelfie is pure brilliance. I’ve got a sister who is a pro at Selfies. She has whole albums of pictures of her face to prove it!

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  January 23, 2012

    Oh Danny you are always cool, and in a few years the girls will realize that. Until then just keep up the excellant work.

    Reply
  7. Helen LaVere

     /  January 23, 2012

    I’m pretty sure this will work with 20-something children as well…

    Reply
  8. You sir, have the secret to life all figured out. Annoying those we love 🙂

    Reply
  9. courtney thompson

     /  January 25, 2012

    Hilarious. Thanks for a good laugh.

    Reply
  10. It’s 12:37 am and I am laughing so hard I’m crying! I was literally shaking and had to explain to my hubby(whom doesn’t share in my night owlish behavior) what I was laughing at! That was great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

