Sunday Post 62: Follow? Yeah right.

Posted by Danny

It’s hard for me to follow and especially hard for me to follow God.

You know, He’s just not direct enough. If He’d appear in a burning bush in my front yard and tell me what to do, I’d probably listen. But dang – sometimes it feels like he’s just not telling me anything at all.

I’m not a patient man. And I don’t really like surprises. That makes me think that maybe the issue isn’t him, but me.

In 1983, I dropped out of college after three weeks. I’d gone to a small Baptist school – that’s what everyone told me would fit, “You’ll be much happier at a small school.” Well, I wasn’t.

Truth be told, I just didn’t want to leave home yet. So, I went, and three weeks later I packed my car and returned home. If I recall, my dad was less than happy with me. But twelve months back in Fayetteville, NC, living at home at age 18, gave me enough desire to move forward. I attended NC State University, with 30,000 students, and discovered an incredible life.

When I dropped out, I couldn’t see the future. I was anxious about what would happen. And God didn’t tell me anything.

Instead, He slowly nudged me to apply to State. And he landed me in a great roommate situation – a guy I now consider a great friend. I thought I might be doomed to a life of folding sweaters in the men’s department at Thalhimer’s Department store.

After I moved to Raleigh, I was led to the Y where I found work (my lifelong career thus far) and where I met my wife.

I guess I did follow, and I guess He did speak. Not in a conversation like I’d have with you. And not in the timeframe that I would have liked (I wanted answers about my future the weekend after I returned home).

Be still and listen and not just with your ears. Have patience.

And life will work out.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Patience is a great virtue and is hard to come !!

    Reply
  2. What’s really cool about that is that with patient I’ve learned that what you are saying is quite true for most people. It’s so nice to see you “give it up to Him” in the end that …. like you said…. “maybe he was speaking to me after all”. It’s kind of like you looked back and saw HIS fingerprints all over it. And you my friend are GUILTY of being obedient. Case Closed: “Well done good and faithful servant”.

    Reply
  3. Annette Heath

     /  March 11, 2012

    It’s not possible for me to over-emphasize prayer, Danny. The Holy Spirit is always close to you. Don’t forget to reach for His guidance and protection. He keeps us on the path he designed. Through all the grieving and loss life brings, we can look back and somehow see the plan….I think. So many warm thoughts and wishes to you and your beautiful daughters.

    Reply
  4. Homestead Ramblings

     /  March 11, 2012

    Wise and kindly put, dear Sir. Excellent post. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sometimes I feel like the process of revealing the reasons for these things that happen in our lives is very slow. Patience is definitely called for.

    Reply
  6. Elena Ceberio

     /  March 11, 2012

    And sometimes He speaks through others, as he just did to me through you. Going through a times when I needed to hear this! Thanks!!

    Reply
  7. I thought I followed His leading. Now 30 years later I wonder…I’d like the burning bush experience, or maybe the parting of the seas. No plagues please! But I await the still small voice…I just hope I am not making too much noise when He speaks! Be still…and Know…that I am GOD!

    Reply
  8. Aunt Susan

     /  March 12, 2012

    Well this was a shock, I never would have considered you as a person without patience!
    I often think of you when I would like to strangle one of my students,as I see you has having such patience and calmness. Well now I have to find a new inspriation,…….. nah, I like you just fine. You have more patience than you realize and you listen not jsut to God, as we all should, but to your kids.

    Reply
  9. Dotty

     /  August 22, 2012

    Sat down tonight and tried to catch up on some of your posts. This time I remember well. God had and still has a plan for you and I agree it sures seems like it would be easier if he would just give us some clear signs, but I guess we also have to be looking for them. You wound up at the right place, Go Pack, almost 30 yrs ago and it forever changed your life. Love ya and miss you! Dotty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

