Are you having fun yet?

  

Posted by Danny

I was at a party last month and someone came up to me and said, “Our family just needs to have more fun – like yours does.” 

I thought that was pretty  cool.  A family who has had tremendous sadness over the past few years is seen as a family who laughs and has fun.  Well, we do.  Do you?

This is a pic from our monthly family dinners.  All are themed.  January was my neice’s 1st birthday, so we all wore pink in her honor.  Then we went to the movies – without changing clothes.  No one said anything, but I’m sure some of the North Hills patrons thought we were weird.  Who cares?  We were having fun.

In March, we celebrated my nephew’s 3rd birthday.  He wanted a marching band – so we obliged.  Sam was our base drummer:

 I wanted to be the Drum Major but my pants kept falling down so no one wanted to follow me:

I thought Jesse looked more like a creepy magician.  I was afraid of what he might pull out of his hat:

My mother-in-law even recreated her majorette costume from high school – boots and hat vintage 60’s:

DJ razzed her about the length of her skirt – what goes around, comes around Nana.

Fun really isn’t difficult.  My girls and I get into wet sponge fights some nights as we clean up the kitchen.  Nothing makes me prouder than Michelle nailing me in the head with a suds filled dish rag.

My parents plan elaborate family B-I-N-G-O games, with prizes, when we’re with them.  They have also exposed my kids to 1950’s musicals – a tradition started by my grandparents. 

Sometimes we just look through old picture books and recant happy memories with mom – like the time she scheduled a personal family tour of Disney World with Peter Pan and Tinkerbell.

A tiny bit of creativity and full participation from the crowd can turn a humdrum night into a memory.  And I can attest to the fact that the memories are sometimes all we have.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Mel Ham

     /  March 28, 2012

    The hams are fun. When I take all things too seriously, I get brought around with the invite of a board game…a practical joke…plastic dog po…etc. Coming into the family late in his years cam thinks that going to Mae and GaGa’s as game playing heaven. He called one time to ask Mae if he and GaGa could play a couple of summers ago. Tell NANA those legs are awesome…I need to know what she does to keep in that good of shape…
    love much Mel

    Reply
  2. An excellent idea! I know I couldn’t help but try this kind of fun!

    Reply
  3. Aunt Susan

     /  March 28, 2012

    It’s about time you posted, I was going to call and ask where this weeks wa, and what a fun one. Yeah you guys always have fun, even when we have memoires of the sad times, so your fun times will be the memories that we all want to have, even with one fun member not there in person.

    Reply
  4. Such great ideas! I love the marching band and especially the drum major and majorette! Family is a wonderful gift!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

