Sunday Post 66: Sacrifice

Posted by Danny

I really think that if given the opportunity, I would have traded places with Lisa. Maybe that sounds valiant or maybe ridiculous. Perhaps if it came down to it, I wouldn’t have had the courage.

I think though, that I loved her enough to have tried to battle the cancer myself. And although I think I’ve done well with the girls, I’m not so sure that in the long run they wouldn’t have been better off with their mom. She just knew so much more about females than I.

If only I had been given that chance.

There is also no doubt in my mind that if given the option of dying or losing one of my kids, I would choose death – in…a…minute. That is not a selfless choice. I could not live through another loss of someone I care so deeply for. Selfishly, I’d rather die than to feel that level of pain again.

For those of us who are Christians, today is a special day. We believe that God cared so much for us that he allowed His son to die a cruel and painful death as the punishment for our sins.

It sounds ridiculous. He is God. Why couldn’t He have come up with another way, a less painful way, to pay for our mistakes? He could have sent a yearly plague, a good dose of locust for atonement. That would have hurt Him a whole lot less. He could have sacrificed one of us each year (yea – I saw The Hunger Games last week). No. Instead, he made the ultimate sacrifice – his child.

Imagine – just imagine allowing your kid to be hung on a cross with nails, a crown of thorns shoved down on his head. Picture that.

And what if you had the power to keep that from happening? Even if that sacrifice could save the world, I would not allow it. No way.
At times I really struggle with that concept. It’s more than I can fathom.

Regardless of your specific religious beliefs, the idea of a loving, graceful God has to be comforting. With my sinful self, it gives me the hope I need to keep trudging through this sometimes difficult life.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Mom

     /  April 8, 2012

    For a little bit you could be a preacher…and a good one.

    Reply
  2. Easter is a huge reminder of the hope that we will will see our loved ones again.

    Reply
  3. Thank you for sharing about the courage God has given you for your journey this far.

    Reply
  4. Wow. I’ve read a lot of posts, and this one made me tear up. Thank you for sharing this. Francis Chan, a famous preacher from Southern California brings his daughter to the stage and has her stand in front of the cross with her arms outstretched. It’s powerful, but a great connection point for those of you with kids. Check out his book Crazy Love.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  April 10, 2012

      That is powerful – I think when you put it in human terms, it is pretty potent.

      Reply
  5. What a powerful entry for Easter Sunday. Thank you. And there IS something you are teaching your girls that they couldn’t get from anyone else. You are giving them an excellent example of what a husband and father can and should be. Hopefully they won’t settle for anything less when it comes time to choosing their life partners. There are a lot of guys out there that will never measure up. And that’s not a bad thing!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  April 10, 2012

      I have a feeling that I’ll be pretty tough on the boys that hover around my girls! I was thinking about their future weddings the other day – life passes too quickly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

