Sunday Post 70: Amendment 1

Posted by Danny

This week in North Carolina we vote on Amendment 1.  This amendment to our state constitution would “limit the types of domestic unions valid or recognized”.  There are arguments that say that the amendment would hurt both same-sex and unmarried heterosexual couples.  But don’t get confused, people are basically voting on whether to give rights to gays.

I think I understand both sides of the argument.  Those who want to vote for the amendment consider homosexuality a sin.  I’m pretty sure you could find supporting documentation of that in the bible – or at a minimum you could interpret that as a general sentiment, at least in the Old Testament.

On the other side, there seems to be a strong feeling that everyone deserves equal rights regardless of age, gender, sexual orientation or the color of your skin.

I think we all have to vote our conscience on May 8 – that’s the right thing to do.  But I’ll have to say that this amendment has made me think – it’s made me think about how we, as Christians, sometimes treat others who were also created in the image of God.

Not only does the bible say that sexual impurity is a sin, but it also says that all sin is created equally.  That is unfortunate for me.  If I was being judged only on the amount of sex I’ve had with other men, I’d be golden – a shoo-in for entrance into the Pearly Gates.  Unfortunately, I fear they’re also keeping tabs on greed, envy, lies, gossip, lack of compassion, lack of humility and also the sexually impure thoughts I have (I’m a single man people, I have thoughts.)

I wish I could say that I lacked humility once and learned my lesson.  Unfortunately, that is probably a sin I’ll struggle to keep in tact until the day I die.  Oh – and you can probably classify the others in that category as well although I’ve almost mastered honoring my father and mother.

And I’ve thought about Jesus.  How  do I think He would react to this law?  I think He’d do the same thing He did when the Pharisees asked him about paying taxes – I believe He said, “Give Caesar what is his” (i.e. – don’t bother me with this earthly crap, I’ve got people to love and souls to save).

I don’t think He condemned the woman at the well.  I think He loved her.  Others ostracised her – because to them she was impure.  Yea – well so am I.

I am thankful that there isn’t a law that keeps those who gossip from having a legal union because if there was, my future possibilities for marriage would be much slimmer.

And what would Jesus do if He was in Raleigh on May 8?  I believe He would refuse to vote and would instead go to lunch with the first gay couple He encountered and possibly a gossiper who thinks too highly of himself.  That’s what I think He’d do.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Mom

     /  May 6, 2012

    Good blog! You hit the crux of the matter. Whatever way we vote, we need to be careful how we treat people who cross our paths daily. Good reminder of what life is all about in the midst of another very human debate.

    Reply
  2. AMEN, Danny!! Our government has gotten completely out of hand and I’m sure God has a plan for it as well.

    Reply
  3. Annette Heath

     /  May 6, 2012

    Please take the time to go to to slog.stranger.com and listen to the video of 21 yo Matthew Vines who is gay and a devout Christian. It is so worth the time it takes to hear his words. Thanks for your take on the upcoming vote in NC re: gay rights. I really appreciated your response. I do believe our world/hearts/minds are changing…..”love one another” and “judge not”. Do we need anything more? You will find love again….I am so sure of it. Annette

    Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  May 6, 2012

    I must disagree, I think Jesus would vote, as we all do, if you can’t decide then don’t cast your vote for that item, but do vote. It’s what give us our country, and honors all of those that work to keep it ours and our way of life.
    p.s. i voted early!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 6, 2012

      Oh, I’ll vote. But I still argue that Jesus wouldn’t get caught up in this stuff. He respected laws but didn’t care what they were – he was more interested in loving people, especially those who had struggled here on earth.

      Reply
  5. Aunt Susan

     /  May 6, 2012

    question off topic, did the girls read today’s paper? did they see the inside of the front of the first page?

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 6, 2012

      I haven’t even read it yet – but I’ll check it out tonight.

      Reply
  6. Cynthia

     /  May 6, 2012

    After 2 phone calls in the last hour basically telling me that it is “God’s Will” that we vote For the Amendment, it was great to come across your post. Guess I better prepare for a very warm afterlife . . .

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 6, 2012

      I’ll see you there – oh, and Lisa’s paved your way!

      Reply
  7. This is the most well written opinion of the Amendment issue I have read/heard yet. Thank you!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 7, 2012

      I’m not sure about that! But thank you for your comment. I did carefully consider my words which obviously I don’t always do –

      Reply
  8. Hopie

     /  May 7, 2012

    I wish I had your gift for words — I am just going to copy this to my closest friends and adopt the wise words of Danny Tanner as my own (giving you all due credit, of course!) Thanks for sharing. These are important things that need to be said, whatever your views on the “ultimate issue.” And speaking of which, is it my job (or the government’s job) to decide somebody else’s ultimate issue???

    Reply
  9. I agree that Jesus came to seek those that were lost. Those that were lost in their sin. To raise them up out from their sin. He did not condemn them but he also did not condone their sin. Like the woman caught in adultery, he did not condemn or condone her, but he did tell her to go and sin no more. He would love those today in the lowest positions yet give them His message of redemption and to leave their sin behind, be it the sin of murder, thievery, lies, adultery, or homosexuality or any other sin. We are all human beings and we are all sinners, yet He calls to us, come to ME and follow ME and be not bound by sin, HE will set you free!

    Reply
  10. Ronda

     /  May 8, 2012

    How refreshing! We Christians too often suffer from what i like to call “Pharisee-itis,
    ” so good job on reminding us that Jesus would have gone to dinner with the tax collectors and those with signs in their yards against the Marriage amendment. As scripture tells us . . .we ALL fall short of the glory of GOD.

    Reply
  11. orange

     /  May 10, 2012

    It is a crying shame that you guy’s are against GOD.Why do you think we have to believe as you? If you want to live wrong,take it to another state.You guy’s hate us because we love JESUS and want to live by his rules,so who is descriminating now?And for the record,no one said they hated you gays,we are going to stand for our GOD.This does’nt mean you are hated,we pray for all man kind.

    Reply
  12. Sylvia White

     /  May 20, 2012

    All we have to do is follow the teachings of Jesus, not the archaic rules of the Old Testament. In the same OT section that condemns homosexual behavior, laws are listed that demand the following: women who marry but are not virgins must be stoned to death, men who masturbate, “spilling their seed wastefully,” are to be executed, a person can not wear different fibers at the same time, seeds of different plants can not be sown in a field, and lots of menstruation rules, like no one can eat a meal prepared by a menstrating woman. Seems to me that if we followed those rules too, we would have a lot of dead or hungry people. Jesus does not mention homosexuality. He preaches love and acceptance. For a good reference in a short pamphlet, go to the web and order for just $1.75 noted theologian Walter Wink’s “Homosexuality and the Bible.”

    Reply
  1. “Amendment 1″ And The Right Of The Majority To Decide – Except When The Majority Is Not The Liberal Side « Society Bytes

Leave a Reply

