Sunday Post 72: Swallow Your Camel

Posted by Danny

Some of the readers of this blog aren’t very happy with me. They didn’t really appreciate my take on all sin being created equal in my post entitled: Amendment 1.

I’m not here to argue about what is or is not a sin. It was simply my intent to remind us that we all screw up – yes, ALL of us. It says in the book of Matthew, “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites!” “You strain out a gnat but swallow a camel.”  Jesus is cracking me up there, telling those mobs they swallow a camel. “Woe to you…you clean the outside of the cup and dish, but inside they are full of greed and self-indulgence. Blind Pharisee! First clean the inside of the cup and dish, and then the outside also will be clean.”

One reader reminded me that Jesus did not condemn nor condone the woman who was caught in adultery. He did, however, tell her to go and sin no more.

That really made me think. Perhaps that passage is directed toward me. The problem is, I haven’t been able to “go and sin no more.” I try – but I just keep stumbling.

I was recently thinking about all of the poor, hungry people in the world. And then, I looked down at my feet. I was wearing a new pair of Cole Haan loafers I purchased in New York last weekend. That reminded me that on the same trip, I found another pair of loafers at Banana Republic – and they were on sale. So I bought them too.

And yet, during my posh weekend stay at the Essex House on Central Park South, 48,000 people on this earth died from issues related to hunger. I know that my greed and lack of financial generosity is sinful. And yet, last night I spent $30 on dinner with friends at Rudino’s Rooftop Bar. I’m clearly not sinning no more.

Maybe some of you have this figured out. Maybe you read “go and sin no more” and you stop.

I often do not. And so, I’m going to work to clean “the inside of my cup and dish” before I criticize the outward appearance of your cup and dish.

But once mine is clean, Katie bar the door – I’m gonna point out everything you do wrong!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Holly Shaw

     /  May 20, 2012

    Way to go!!! You are right on!

    Reply
  2. Amen brotha.

    Reply
  3. Totally agree!

    I really enjoy reading your blog, thanks for putting yourself out there.

    Reply
  4. David

     /  May 20, 2012

    Well, now that you out it that way………..

    Reply
  5. David

     /  May 20, 2012

    I meant put it that way….

    Reply
  6. Jean

     /  May 20, 2012

    I used to think my ability to see both sides of an issue was a blessing…these days it feels more like a curse!!! Not a whole lot of pointing here, as I stay pretty dang busy cleaning the inside of this ol’ girl’s cup and bowl…

    Reply
  7. Aunt Susan

     /  May 20, 2012

    Thank you for reminding me, it’s so easy to forget.

    Reply
  8. Luanne

     /  May 21, 2012

    Loved this post – sometimes we forget that the ground is level at the foot of the cross.

    Reply
  9. Kat Hamilton

     /  May 21, 2012

    Wonderful world view Danny!!!! I am printing this to remind me before I slide down that slippery slope!!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 22, 2012

      We all ought to do a better job of reminding ourselves!

      Reply
  10. Frances Maffitt

     /  May 21, 2012

    Your post in Amendment 1 was so well done and so right on! Now you have done it again…way to go!! You are truly an inspirational writer. I do so enjoy your blog and look forward to each one. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  11. Brenda

     /  May 22, 2012

    Well said, well said.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

