Sunday Post 73: Precious and Holy

Posted by Danny

Every night, I enjoy putting my kids to bed. I usually do it individually – it’s the time of day that each kid and I have the opportunity to connect with no other distractions.

One thing we do during this time is pray. We thank God for our many blessings. There was a time, right after Lisa died, that the “appreciation” part of the prayer was short. So consumed with what I’d lost, I struggled to see that I still had a lot of good stuff in my life.

As one friend pointed out, “Danny Tanner, I don’t feel sorry for you.  You have a lot to be thankful for.”  Made me sort of get over my lack of ability to find some good, even in the midst of a lot of bad.

Each night I pray that my girls will make good decision in their lives with friendships, boys, and career. I guess my hope is that when they are faced with a tough choice, maybe a lightbulb will go off – MMM, maybe this was one of those decisions dad prayed about 6,000 times when I was growing up.

Having lost our mom to cancer, it seems like folks are quick to make us aware of the numerous families in our area who are battling cancer or who are left to pick up the pieces when a young parent dies. We don’t know many of these families personally, but we keep them on our list.

I’m proud of my girls. They’re developing compassion. When we hear about the mother in Eastern North Carolina with three boys and stage 4 colon cancer, for months they ask me if I’ve received a report on their family. If I forget to pray for them one night, my kids are quick to chime in with a passionate plea for their comfort.

We laugh as we pray – sometimes having to take a break because of the giggles. I think God has a sense of humor, and I don’t want them to think that prayer has to be stodgy.

Maybe this prayer time is less for them and more for me. I’m not sure.

What I do know is that this 15 minutes each night is the most precious and holy time of my week.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Mom

     /  May 27, 2012

    You’ve got it right. Those are the precious times in your life and your girls’ lives. They will remember. Good job, son. I’m proud of you.

    Reply
  2. Homestead Ramblings

     /  May 27, 2012

    Amen and Amen, you are such a good and wise dad.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 29, 2012

      I’m not sure wise is a very good adjective for me. Perhaps diligent, but not wise.

      Reply
  3. Bettie Rabb

     /  May 27, 2012

    I am continually humbled by the wisdom and love in your posts. Thanks for sharing your heart and your compassion with all of us. Much love!

    Reply
  4. Courtney

     /  May 27, 2012

    I just read this and thought of your family. http://news.yahoo.com/joe-biden-reflects-grief-suicidal-thoughts-death-wife-205013551–abc-news-politics.html
    Hope you are all doing well.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 29, 2012

      I can relate to everything he says. He knows – he really knows.

      Reply
  5. I enjoy your post so much. Sometimes we forget what we have to be thankful for and it takes you and your girls to remind us. Thanks for letting us be apart of your life.

    Reply
  6. So sweet! They’ll remember these times forever. Especially when they have to make a tough decision.

    Reply
  7. We follow the same format in our household. I 100% agree. Those are precious moments before bed when each individual child gets private time. I have been wondering if it was time to let it go as mine are teens now but then I read a post like this and think “No way!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

