Sunday Post 76: A Proud Father

Posted by Danny

I was never the best looking kid, just average.  I’m not much of a sports guy – ran cross-country in high school but not in the top 5 and that’s what counts.  I was in a few school plays but never the lead.  I missed the National Honor Society at Terry Sanford Senior High School by 2 points – just didn’t quite apply myself enough.  And yet, with all that – or better yet, with only that, I always felt like my father was proud that I was his son.

He grew up with an alcoholic father.  His dad didn’t heap on the praise.  In fact, I don’t think he told my dad he was proud of him until my dad was 40.  And even that was in writing.  Yeah, that was about the extent of Granddaddy Tanner’s praise.

As I look at my father, I see the good pieces of my granddad – strong financial sense, good at tinkering with things, generous.  But I also see that he avoided all of the mistakes my granddad made.  My dad doesn’t drink – a lick.  He’s pretty open with his feelings.  He outwardly loves and respects my mother.  And he is the first one to tell his kids he loves them – regardless.  Yea – just regardless.

If my girls don’t know anything else in life, they know these two things:

1) Their dad loves them more than any human could ever love another

2) Their dad is proud of them just like they are

Yea, I push them on grades a bit.  There are times I’m disappointed in their actions, and I make my opinion known.  They don’t readily help out around the house very often, and their bickering drives me nuts! 

But in no way do their actions affect my love for them.  It’s just too deep.

I think God’s like that too.  Maybe that’s what being a father is all about.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Mom

     /  June 17, 2012

    That’s your Dad! And we are blessed to have him.

    Reply
    • Mel Ham

       /  June 17, 2012

      You compliment the greatest of these men. There’s credit here too. Love you regardless Mel

      Reply
  2. Happy Father’s Day Bruce! We hope you have a great day ~ you are an amazing father just like your Dad. Blessings & love to you,

    The Rehms

    Reply
  3. Wayne

     /  June 17, 2012

    You made it easy for me to be proud of you! Thanks for the kind words. And as you have grown older you’ve made me even prouder. The fact that both my boys have faced what life has thrown at them with dignity, determination, and grace without being bitter or losing their faith has given me more satisfaction than you can imagine.You both have given justification for my pride in you. You are a wonderful example for your children…and they are as proud of you as you are of them!

    Reply
  4. marinko

     /  June 17, 2012

    Happy Father’s Day. Nice words! Cheers from Switzerland

    Reply
  5. Aunt Susan

     /  June 17, 2012

    Yep you hit the jackpot in Dad’s and the girls have too. Lisa hit the top of the heap in husbands,just shows he made the best choice for her kids. As for the girls bickering, it just shows how much they care and love each other, something that they go from their parents.
    Happy Fathers day to you, your Dad, your Pops in Law, and your Bro in Law.

    Reply
    • Mel Ham

       /  June 17, 2012

      I agree Auntie Susan. All of the Ham men are the truest examples of what a good father and husband should be. My stock went up when I married into this family. They are easy to be with and love. Mel Ham

      Reply
  6. This is so sweet. I love stories of beating the odds, of a man overcoming the challenges of his childhood. Happy Father’s Day to you and your dad.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  June 17, 2012

      some days feels like we’ve beat the odds, others feel like they’re beating us!

      Reply
  7. I just read the story in the paper about you and had to come and check out your blog because I was just so blown away by how you stepped in to play mom as well as dad after your wife’s death. You and your girls are very lucky to have each other.

    Unfortunately, my dad was probably more like your grandfather, because he’s an alcoholic (in recovery now, thankfully). It’s wild because my sister, mom and I will start talking about something that happened years ago when we were growing up and he’s clueless–he doesn’t remember much of mine or my siblings’ growing up. So it’s also awesome that your dad was able to break the cycle.

    And don’t worry about the bickering, my sister and I used to fight like cats and dogs. But she’s one of my best friends now. 🙂

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  June 18, 2012

      I’m glad to hear that about you and your sister – because I’m about ready to knock some heads together tonight!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

