Overload or Dementia?

I may be losing my mind.  I’m actually a bit scared.

I was driving up St. Mary’s Street recently and passed by one of DJ’s best friend’s house.  I looked at the house and could picture the girl who lived there, but her name escaped me.  I couldn’t come up with it – a kid that my daughter hangs out with a lot!  A kid I really like!

I glanced in the back seat at Michelle – “What’s the girl’s name that is DJ’s best friend at school?” I inquired in a panic.

“Kimmey?”, she asked as if I had just fallen out of a tree.

“Yea.  Yea.  Kimmey.”

She frowned.  I sped up.

Three days later, as I was trying to fall asleep, it popped in my head, You don’t know your pin number.  The four digit code I’d had since I was 16 was gone, lost in a cerebral brain fart.  I thought I’d remembered it and dozed on off.  The next day I realized I had not remembered.  I drove up to the ATM and punched in a series of four digits.  I was denied my cash.

I punched in a different code.  The machine scoffed. 

Time three and time four were no better.  I called the 800 number on the back of my debit card.  Apparently no one, including myself, knew that number.  It’s encoded in the strip on the card.  I held the card to my forehead – to no avail.  I was about to lose something that brought me much comfort.  It was like I had forgotten my child’s birthday.

What in the heck is going on?  Do I have a brain tumor?  Is early onslaught Alzheimer’s headed my way?  Hardening of the arteries?  A nervous breakdown?  I got no idea.

A friend suggested that maybe I was on overload.  Can that cause you to forget things that should be embedded into your brain?

I’ve been out-of-town some portion of every weekend since late May.  On Saturday, we got home at 11:30 pm from a great overnight at the lake.  On Sunday I taught Sunday School, mowed, edged, and blew the yard, cleaned out the gutters and swept off the roof, rode bikes with Michelle, took two to the pool, helped a friend move a table, shopped for groceries, cooked dinner for the extended family, knocked out four loads of clothes for the four-week summer camper, addressed six thank you notes for DJ and wrote two blog posts.  I snuggled with my girls and put them to bed.  Finally, I sat down and drank a beer.

As I was falling asleep, I remembered my pin. 

I guess I’m suffering from brain delay.  It’s all still in there, just going to take a few days to pull it out.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Mom

     /  August 15, 2012

    I can relate! Names have always escaped me. That is not a test for me. Directions are beyond me. That also won’t tell us if I’m still in there. BUT…if I forget to lock the door, I’ve had it! Sometimes the words that I want come later and I”m wonderful at supplying the word that someone else needs, just not always the one I am looking for at the time. Sometimes Wayne and I like to play, let’s tell this story together, as do some of my friends. Being busy does make a difference. Sometimes your mind just gets on overload. That means you need a break and some rest. Sleep is a wonderful medication for the memory. Remember, we have to take care of OUR old brains. Don’t want them to move out on us.

    Reply
  2. Evie Lichti

     /  August 15, 2012

    You’re much too young for “old-timers”. Chalk this one up to over-load, get some rest and see how it is in the morning!!

    Reply
  3. Aunt Susan

     /  August 16, 2012

    You addressed the mail for your teenager????? What she broke both hands at the same time? Really. you need some cool clear air and water! Have a good time.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 16, 2012

      clarify – I read the addresses out – she did the writing. Our address book is almost indeciferable by anyone but me (or Lisa who started it).

      Reply
  4. GodCountryGolf

     /  August 16, 2012

    Dear Danny~
    You have just described what we (at Fort Bragg) affectionately call “widow brain.” Numbers, passwords, appointments seem to fly right out sometimes. Thankfully, they do, eventually, come back. 🙂 Hang in there!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  August 18, 2012

      its been two and half years – i should have this down by now.

      Reply
      • GodCountryGolf

         /  August 19, 2012

        Grief is a mighty strange companion. The holes in our hearts (and our widow/er brains) are here to stay…but, God is good. He blesses us with a sense of humor, so we can laugh at ourselves. And He will see us through. Have a delightful Sunday!

      • Danny Tanner

         /  August 22, 2012

        Thanks!

Leave a Reply

