Sunday Post 91: A Different Pace

I attack life with zest and speed.  I don’t get out of the bed easily, but once I do, I move.  The day is before me, and there’s a lot to be done.

Stephanie approaches life in a different manner.  She is thoughtful and methodical.  Her end result is of quality.

I shoot before I aim, marking off of my long to do list when just enough of the task has been done.

She follows the detail – not missing a comma, semicolon or the dot of an i.

Sometimes our two worlds collide.  Actually, my world doesn’t seem to bother her too much.  It’s her world for me that’s occasionally the problem.

When we arrive at our destination, I jump out of the car and immediately press the lock button on my remote.  I’m six steps out before I realize my middle child is trapped in the car.  This is a regular occurrence for the Tanner family.

“What were you doing vacuuming the back seat?  Open your door and move child!  Move!  We’ve got so many things to get done!!”

She simply can’t.  Her pace is not mine.

Her showers are long.  I imagine her every nook and cranny is sparkling clean.  Her sister waits patiently for her turn.

I’m in, and I’m out.  Miss a foot?  No big deal.  I’ll catch it tomorrow, my odor eaters are new.

The other day after dinner we all got ice cream.  Three of us were through and headed out to the car.  Stephanie grabbed some napkins, her cone nearly full.

When we got home, she was still licking.

“I’m just too full.  Anyone want the rest?”

“You only ate half,” my oldest replied.

“Yea,” she replied, she heard fact – not a scold.

I guess I’d have gotten tired of it too had I been chomping on it for 45 minutes.  Sometimes I think her mouth just gets exhausted.  She has all her teeth and a normal sized tongue.  What has she been doing on the 8 mile ride home?

I once had a college roommate who was much the same way.  He ate each of the items on his plate but just one at a time:

Green beans:  check

Fried Chicken:  check

Rolls:  check

I prefer a party in my mouth – a little of this and a little of that.

But eating slow is good.  She ate half of the calories.  I gulped mine on down and was ready for more.

She doesn’t seem to have a desire to change my fast pace.  She’s absolutely content as I speed down the road or through the halls of her school.  She doesn’t get frustrated when she’s locked in the car.  Yes, Stephanie understands that is just who I am.

Isn’t it interesting what we can learn from a child?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Aunt Susan

     /  September 30, 2012

    I always knew I really liked that kid, and now I know it’s because she moves at her pace and nothing seems to ruffle her feathers. I wish I had more of her in that calmness of hers. I wonder who she got that from.

    Reply
  2. Evie Lichti

     /  September 30, 2012

    Hey, there, “young man”!! Sorry I lost your email address so this will hafta do . . . sorry I’m a day late but hope your birthday was a good one and that the year ahead will continue to show more promise and contentment as you continue to adjust! I continue to admire you and enjoy your posts. Hope you have a great week, and please continue to tolerate those beautiful girls. They ARE treasures, ya’ know! love Evie

    Reply
  3. Mom

     /  October 1, 2012

    You’ve got Lucy pegged! She is one sweet kid, slow or not. Each of your girls are different. Each one is her own person. It’s hard to track down some of the family traits and almost impossible to see one that they all share except for their love for Daddy, if you can call that a trait.

    Reply
  4. Aunt Susan

     /  October 2, 2012

    Your mom nailed them!!!! and you. Aren’t you lucky they are all different.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

