Sunday Post 96: Drastically Different

I wish we all treated each other equally, but I just don’t believe that most of us really, wholeheartedly buy into that.  We try – but our actions don’t reflect our voice.

A friend of mine was walking into church last spring when a man stopped her asking for some money.  I think most people would have responded in one of two ways – with significant fear and a feeling of being uncomfortable or by simply ignoring the person and saying “no.”

My personal go to line in this situation is, “All I have is a credit card.”  Which unless I can’t find my wallet, is usually true.

But my friend didn’t respond like I would have.  Instead, she said, “I’ll give you some money, but first you have to come to church with me.”  And guess what?  He did.

I wish we’d all think like that.

A childhood friend of mine did some bad things and is now in the middle of a fairly long prison sentence.  I actually don’t really know all that he did; intentional on my part.

My mom and dad, the kind souls that they are, write him regularly and send him a package at Christmas.  They have even driven the two hours to the penitentiary several times to visit him.  I just can’t envision my 5′ 1/2 ” mother, with her little high heels and enormous pocket-book, strolling into a prison visiting room.  I wonder if they frisk her.

I sort of feel sorry for him, although I know it was his own doing that got him into this predicament.  I just can’t seem to imagine someone sitting there that lonely, that isolated.

I struggle to relate to those who are drastically different from me.  And yet, God created us all – including the homeless and the “bad guys” in prison.

I wonder what would happen if we all began to reach out to someone who was drastically different from us.  The world would probably be a much better place.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Mel Ham

     /  November 4, 2012

    Reading “The Shack” put what you are talking about into perspective for me. The book made points that made me take notice of things. However, in reality that fear, anger that comes with bad decisions that affect innocent people still is a hard one for me. Forgiveness is one of the hardest things human beings can do…next is non-judgement. Good blog today.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 4, 2012

      I heard that book was great. Might want to borrow it.

      Reply
      • Mel Ham

         /  November 5, 2012

        oh…yes…WE have a copy..I’ll give it to you at thanksgiving. Some folks didn’t like it but it was moving to me…

  2. Wayne

     /  November 4, 2012

    Don’t worry about your mom…she holds her own at prison without the pocketbook. You don’t even get in the door with any thing including a kleenex.. And yes they give you an electronic frisk..

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 4, 2012

      Has she used their bathrooom?

      Reply
      • Mom

         /  November 5, 2012

        Yes and it was not bad. I was surprised. I wouldn’t count it as one of my all time favorites though. Definitely no frills.

  3. Aunt Susan

     /  November 4, 2012

    I always knew i liked your mom, and wanted to be more like her. I am very impressed that she goes to the prison. But don’t think you don’t work at relating, you do and it shows in your actions and the girls, I think Lisa saw that and liked you for it,

    Reply
  4. I love this post, and agree wholeheartedly. We are all created different and the same. Every one of us wants to know that we matter, in some way, in this crazy world. I think the love and acceptance we are searching for takes practice, probably a lifetime of practice! But as we move forward every day, we learn to see the world through a fresh new lens. Our hearts grow, our minds become more open, we let go of fear. We do better because we know better. 🙂 I love this post 🙂 so much I said it twice 🙂

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  November 4, 2012

      I like “we’re all created different but the same.” pretty cool thought.

      Reply
  5. Mom

     /  November 4, 2012

    And I always liked you too, Susan. We had some good book talks at Capon, didn’t we? We just don’t wind up in Raleigh too often T the same time, do we?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

