Sunday Post 97: The First Noel

Those of you who attend church on Christmas Eve know the feeling.  The choir gets in position, all decked out in their deep red robes.  Half of the members are pretty dang old, but boy can they sing.

There are Christmas trees in the front of the sanctuary, the lights a bit brighter on this particular night.  There are members of folks’ families you haven’t seen for years, and they all look better than they did the last time you saw them.

It’s not about your new dress that day or the bow tie you pulled out.  And the kids are on their best behavior realizing a trip from Santa Claus is too close to take chances.

When the organ starts, you immediately recognize the song –

The first Noel, the angels did say – was to certain poor shepherds in fields where they lay.

It sends a little chill down my spine each and every time.

The girls and I got into Ira David Wood’s A Christmas Carol again this year.  In mid-October, we began singing that very song.  As many times as I’ve heard it, and as many times as I’ve sung it – about 600 last year during rehearsals and performances, it still moves me.  It brings a peace to my soul.  It makes me think that everyone in the room, and really everyone in my town and country, are all on the same page.  No, we don’t all believe the same thing – we don’t all agree on politics, but each December, we stop.  We are respectful and thoughtful; we are thankful.

For me, that feeling lasts longer than the one Sunday our choir director decides to work it into the service.  For me, it starts in mid October – at the first rehearsal, with the first note.

I think everyone needs to be in a Christmas play.  I also think we should work to put aside our differences in November and January and perhaps in July too.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Homestead Ramblings

     /  November 11, 2012

    Well Said. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  November 11, 2012

    Yep, I can already feel what you’re talking about. To me, there is nothing like Christmas music and Christmas lights. Just the lights bring a good feeling inside of me. I suddenly realized that Christmas is almost here a couple of weeks ago and that little bit of joy began to edge into my thoughts. It will be shattered a little as we deal with some hard things during the season but it’s there and I hope to hang on to as much of it as possible this year. Life is way too short and we don’t need to wast one moment of it…especially the “good feeling moments”. Each time our girls smile and get excited this year it’s going to be a reminder to me to enjoy the moment.

    Reply
  3. Mel Ham

     /  November 11, 2012

    I can’t even sing away in a manager. I get that I’m gonna cry lump in my throat. I cry at Christmas parades. But my favorite Christmas song is O holy night. I’m excited already..looking forward to thanksgiving already. The feelings, the smells, the food..family…how blessed we are.

    Reply
  4. 🙂 just so glad to have read this… I am continents away from you but this is a feeling I can relate to 🙂

    Reply
  5. Hi, I chanced upon your blog through Freshly Pressed. I lost my father to lung cancer in October 2011, just two months after he was diagnosed. It was downhill from there and the two months taking care of him with my mom and my sister were the worst months of my life. It’s been almost two years now and it still hasn’t been easy, it’s very hard to miss him and still cry when I think of him.

    I worry about my mom the most because she wasn’t supposed to grow old without a husband beside her.

    You’re very strong and for us who have lost loved ones to cancer, it isn’t a journey we chose to take but it chose us and we deal with it the best way we can. I’ve never seen a counselor about my grief but I think I need one because of my trauma for being the last person to be with my father in his hospital room the day he passed away.

    I’m sorry for your loss. Be strong and I try to find hope in the smallest things. It gets me through the day. That and my love for my mother, my sister and my new husband.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 5, 2013

      You find that counselor. Mine has been a tremendous help. Just to talk it out –

      Reply

Leave a Reply

