Tree Traditions

For the past decade, our family has gone to the mountains Thanksgiving weekend to cut down our Christmas tree.  It’s a pretty big deal.

We get two, and I’m sort of picky.  Most years Lisa and the girls would end up in the car as I meticulously combed through each tree on the lot.  I mean seriously, how can you choose one until you’ve reviewed them all?  You gotta browse, test drive, measure, envision – it’s a very important decision.

I’ve been known to lay on the ground in front of the tree to ensure that it is wide enough for the space in our den – six feet works well.  We have A LOT of ornaments, plus I like big stuff.  I  don’t want a petite tree.  I want a hunkin’ manly one – I want to yell TTTTiiiiimmmber as it falls to the ground.  You don’t get to say that often.

One year I overshot the height, and we had to cut off about a third of the tree.  It looked odd.  But it was big.

Since Lisa died, I sort of count the day at the tree farm as a passage – I ‘m a little bit further down the road.

The first year after she died, Uncle Jesse went with us to cut down the tree.  It was really nice to have him there although the two country men running the farm determined that we were a gay couple.  They were snickering behind the barn as we coerced another hand to take our family Christmas card photo.  It sort of ticked me off – I thought maybe we were beyond giggling about that.  Plus, if I was gay, I wouldn’t pick him!  He’s just not that good-looking, and he really isn’t very good around the house.

Before we left, I introduced them to my brother-in-law and let them know my wife had recently died of colon cancer – the giggles dissipated.

Last year we stayed in a sort of seedy motel.  The kids thought the television was a microwave –

“Where’s the door dad?”

“The door to what?”

“The door to the microwave.”

“That’s not a microwave, it’s a TV!”

“But it has brown paneling.”

My kids are so dang privileged.

We went to a nearly empty restaurant with a one man band.  The girls and I danced under the mirror ball.

I thought this year was going to go off like a charm.  I was quicker than usual and actually managed to choose two trees from the $5 off lot.  Both were small enough to load onto the top of Uncle Matt’s car.  But after I’d made my choices and gotten the kids’ approval, they disappeared.  When I finally found them, they had planted themselves around a tiny tree that had been lost among the tall ones.

“Dad, we want this tree.”

“Look Charlie Brown, we have two, don’t need another, let’s go.”

And clearly in a rehearsed voice, all three said, “We’re not leaving without him!”

Yes, much like the Hostess employees, they had a minivan walkout.  The union had spoken, and there was no room for negotiation.

When I discovered it too was on the $5 off lot and would cost me a mere Lincoln, I was swayed.  Some things just aren’t worth the trouble.

When Lisa died one of her “House Rules” was:  Gang up on dad when he won’t do something that you know I’d approve of.

These chickens are taking her at her word.  It’s a hard argument for a tired old man.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. yourothermotherhere

     /  November 28, 2012

    What a lovely and touching story. I hope you and yours have the most wonderful Christmas!

    Reply
  2. Ahhh. Girls are good at peer (or, parental) pressure. Glad you gave in!

    Reply
  3. That’s adorable. That’s a good battle for them to win, shows them that Dad can cave sometimes, and it’s nothing super important or dangerous that you’d have to say ‘no’. This brings me cheer!

    Reply
  4. George

     /  November 28, 2012

    Ha ha… that’s a great story all around, Danny. I’m sure the little tree is the one you’ll all always remember most. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sarah LF

     /  November 28, 2012

    Love the tree. But on to more important things. I think Michelle deserves to be moved to the right on the banner at the top of the blog. You can hardly see her under the “House!” Bus driver, move that house! Maybe Uncle Jesse wants to live under the house for a while. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  November 28, 2012

    Sarah had a good idea, now that Jesse has moved out, your still a “full house” it’s just spread out around town! Can’t wait to see all 3 trees.!

    Reply
  7. I enjoyed reading this for many different reasons. Thank you.

    Reply
  8. Awesome tradition!

    Reply
  9. Francie Reding

     /  November 30, 2012

    Love!

    Reply
  10. How wonderful.. .three trees!

    Reply
  11. you have such an adorable family 🙂

    Reply
  12. Marty underwood

     /  December 15, 2012

    How do I get to the beginning of this blog? My son in law has just lost his wife and has two boys 8 and 12 to raise.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  December 16, 2012

      Marty,
      On the front page of the blog on the right there is a tab that says “Past Episodes”. Go the the first month, December 2010. That was the start. I’m sorry to hear about your son’s loss. It is very, very difficult. Please let me know if I can help in any way.
      Danny

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Tanner Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12,035 other followers

  • Past Posts

  • Contact Us