The Harlem Shake

I’ve always been a funny guy, using humor to maneuver the tougher points in my life – like middle school.  However, I don’t think I’ve been a particularly fun person throughout my life.  “I’m game” has not been a phrase I frequently use.

Wierd food?  I’ll stick to a burger.  Mud?  Paint?  Shaving creme fights?  I like to be clean.

Venture out to the IHop at 2 AM?  Nah, I’m tired.  Skinny dip?  Don’t like cold water.  Camp?  Is there a bathroom?

Lisa was the one who took risks (she didnt’ skinny dip that much, at least not when I knew her), but she was fun, willing to try about anything.

Since she’s been gone, I’ve worked to placate my kids by venturing out of my comfort zone a bit – but it is not easy.  I sort of like my little safe, comfortable, Leave It To Beaver world.

This week, DJ was talking about the Harlem Shake at the dinner table.  I told her we’d get one the next time we went to New York.  She explained that it was not a dairy drink, but rather a dance.  Well, sort of.  She then proceeded to log on to YouTube to show me this new phenomena.

This is the Harlem shake in a Board Room.  I’m going to try it next week at our Y Executive Committee meeting.

This one was my favorite, it was taped underwater.

After watching a few of these magnanimous performances, the younger two kids pushed for a Tanner Family original.

“You guys… it’s too much trouble.”

“Let’s do it in the bathroom!”

“We can turn the shower on and spray each other.”

“Agggh.  I’d have to take my suit off, and I’d get wet.  And then there’s the clean up.”

“Come on dad!”

“Geeeze.  I’m gonna be cold and I’m gonna have to mop.”

I could find every reason in the world not to get up, not to participate.  But then I thought:  Danny, you are a fun sucker.  Get off your butt and shake! 

After Lisa died, I committed to bringing the joy and the fun back to our house, and it looked like this fell squarely into that category.

So here it is, the Harlem Shake, starring Danny Tanner and his Pips:

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. This has made my day! Well done Tanner family!

    Reply
  2. Way to live in the moment! You won’t regret it. 🙂

    Reply
  3. How sweet!

    Reply
  4. I adore your blog. Thanks for putting yourself out there. I lost my mom to cancer when I was 15 and it is interesting to read about the experience of the spouse in such a tragic loss. Reading your blog helps me to understand my own father just a little bit more. I think you are doing an amazing job with your daughters and it is awesome that you step out of your comfort zone. I promise they will remember this for the rest of their lives.

    Reply
  5. Mom

     /  March 13, 2013

    Don’t let him fool you, there will be a lot of things they will remember. He’s got a big “nutty” side! He keeps those kids joking, laughing and rolling their eyes at his “shenanigans” all the time. He’s right, Lisa was more of a risk taker but she taught him well. He’s “movin on out” with that too.

    Reply
  6. Courtney

     /  March 13, 2013

    Now there’s the cool uncle I remember!! That’s no fun sucker!! Good job girls..

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 14, 2013

      The pizza with macaroni – and toilet paper with Christmas song written on the roles!!

      Reply
  7. nannypology

     /  March 13, 2013

    This made me smile. Great Daddy-ing sucking it up and taking one for your team.

    Reply
  8. So awesome!!!

    Reply
  9. 76sanfermo

     /  March 13, 2013

    Beautiful post! Bravo Danny Tanner!

    Reply
  10. I enjoyed the post and the videos!

    Reply
  11. ThunderBear

     /  March 13, 2013

    The Tanner Family ROCKS!!!! Danny, you’ve got mad skills as a dancer; but even more so as a Dad!!

    Reply
  12. Aunt Susan

     /  March 14, 2013

    WOW, I thought for sure it was Jesse!

    Reply
  13. Francie Reding

     /  March 15, 2013

    Every family should have a their own video like this one. Well done!

    Reply
  14. momto3sugars

     /  March 16, 2013

    So hilarious! Great job Danny! What an awesome Dad!!!

    Reply
  15. Danny …
    I lost my husband 3 years ago to a car accident and my Gerry sounds alot like your Lisa. He was the fun parent and more of the risk taker. I’m glad you were able to make your own video with the girls. I’m sure they have many more great memories you have made for them on top of this one.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 18, 2013

      Looks like you’re in my seat. It’s hard to be yourself AND your deceased spouse. I guess there was a little bit of Lisa deep down in me!

      Reply
  16. Leigh Ann

     /  March 21, 2013

    That was fabulous! JB didn’t have much in the moves department! 😉

    Reply
  17. Lash Bonfield

     /  April 2, 2013

    Very cute!! We did this with the boys at Liam’s birthday party a couple of weeks ago. It was HILARIOUS!! My brother taped it, so I will send you a copy when he forwards me the final version.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

