BBBBBBBBBBBBB

report card

Apparently Miss Stephanie had a tough semester.  She realized Friday that the quarter was coming to an end on the following Tuesday, and Little Bit’s six A’s from last semester were appearing to turn into one A and five B’s.

Thankfully, it is not her fault.

“This quarter was not a full nine weeks.  It was shorter,” she argued.

“Stephanie, I assure you that the third quarter is exactly ¼ of the school year.  It is the same length as the first and second ones.”

“No dad.  It isn’t.  This one was like four weeks!”

“So it was an eighth?  I see.  The school calendar has two quarters and then an eighth, probably followed by another quarter, and then possibly another eighth.  Makes perfectly good sense to me.”

“Besides, the teachers didn’t give us enough graded assignments this time.  We had like two grades in each class!”

“Two?   Only two graded assignments in each class the entire semester?”

“I don’t know exactly.  But it wasn’t a lot.”

“Probably ‘cause they only had half the time as the last quarter.”

“Yea.  Oh, and like the math tests had like 50 questions on them, and I could hardly finish.”

“That does seem like a lot of questions.”

“Yea.  And for every one you miss the teacher marks off 5 points from your grade!”

“Humm.  So if my math is correct, you could score as much as 250 points on that test?”

“What?”

“Well, if there are 50 questions and each one counts 5 points, it seems to me you could get a grade of 250.  If you did well on a test like that, it is bound to bring your grade up.  That’s a lot of points.”

“Whatever…”  she was getting ticked.

“Baby, four things:

1)       It’s not that big of a deal

2)      You need to keep up with your grades and figure out mid quarter where you’re struggling so that you’ll have time to pull them  up – two days just won’t do it

3)      You’re tired, you need to go to bed

4)      and I love you.”

Lisa would have checked her grades on a weekly basis.  This is partially my fault.  I guess we both learned a lesson this eighth, err, I mean quarter.

(Since writing this post, I think we may have actually pulled in a couple more A’s, like maybe four!  She probably got a 239 on her last math test.)

Next Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. This made me smile this morning

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  March 20, 2013

    I like the way you handled that. Yep, you both learned with that experience. Got to have those times. Those girls like to please. That’s the best motivator in the world.

    Reply
  3. Hi Danny ! Your post is so pleasant!

    Reply
  4. Wanda Easley

     /  March 20, 2013

    Thanks! I laughed out loud. Love this post! As a former teacher, I recommend you as a presenter for parent workshops!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 20, 2013

      I could speak on behalf of all the clueless fathers…

      Reply
  5. Perspective…sometimes that’s all any of us need. Thanks for the smile.

    Reply
  6. Aunt Susan

     /  March 20, 2013

    oh cut the kid some slack, in ten years a B or an A won’t mean a thing. She’s a good kid and quite smart, cut yourself some slack too, inthe long run they will all do good.

    Reply
  7. Wayne

     /  March 20, 2013

    I’m really indignant! The gall of that child not making all A’s when you were such a perfect student. I don’t think you made a single B all through high school. All A’s. I’m sure you made all A’s. You did make all A’s didn’t you?… Well mostly A’s….Maybe it was a few A’s…You did make an A once didn’t you? My memory is not what it once was. That was many eigths ago! dad .

    Reply
  8. Michaela Iiames

     /  March 20, 2013

    Amen to not riding jockey to the grades. . . !! Micromanaging, in spite of what MANY think works, does not produce self-sufficient, pro-active, accountable adults. Isn’t that what we want?

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 20, 2013

      I guess so, unless she flunks out… how’s that science grade this eigth?

      Reply
  9. theskyroach

     /  March 21, 2013

    Kids will be kids. I used to exaggerate about my school work to my parents too saying, “But Dad, Mrs. So-and-So gave us this HUGE project along with a ton of homework and didn’t give us any time at all to do it.” Dad’s reply, “I didn’t realize that 4 weeks wasn’t enough time to write a 500 word paper and draw a picture.” Haha. B’s are still good, but I’m sure she will bring them up to A’s by the end of the school year!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  March 21, 2013

      There does seem to be some major exaggerations going on at the Tanner house from several of my children… thanks for the heads up!

      Reply
  10. I think I’ve had this conversation at my house.. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

