Sunday Post 115: Why?

On the way home from dance class Wednesday, Michelle asked me why someone would use a bomb to hurt other people.  It was simply beyond her comprehension.

The problem is, it’s beyond mine too.  I can’t answer her question.  It’s a tougher conversation than the birds and the bees.

These guys rob us.  We can’t fly without worry.  We can’t see the world without extreme caution.  Our kids can’t go to school without fear.  We can’t honestly reassure our children, because we aren’t certain it won’t happen to us.

I wonder if they’ve ever felt pain.  I wonder if they can even imagine the agony they cause.

Maybe they have – maybe they can.

I just can’t imagine.  I can’t fathom how you could intentionally cause that level of agony to your fellow-man.

I know how it feels to hurt, I mean really hurt.  I would never wish that on anyone, ever.  How do you intentionally, with premeditated thought, plant a bomb with the express purpose of injuring, even killing another human being?  How do you walk into a school and shoot innocent kids you’ve never met before?

Maybe they do understand how it feels to lose someone you love.  Maybe they want to pay the world back for their loss.

Nah – I don’t believe you can understand love at any level and commit this sort of terror.

I’d do nearly anything in my power to keep others from going through what I’ve been through.  I just simply can’t understand how you could purposefully cause pain like that.  I just don’t get it.

Why, why, why?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. CHall

     /  April 21, 2013

    I don’t have a ready answer for you and I guess no one else does either since this is mid-afternoon and no comments yet. I will say that every time something like this bombing occurs and religion is mentioned, I’m reminded of words from two wise people I knew (now deceased). One was my college freshman world history professor, a highly respected tenured professor, a citizen of the world, not stuck in an ivory tower but someone who had held appointments as a cultural ambassador to various countries in Russia/Middle East (this was 40+ years ago). One day he said very calmly “Religion is an opiate of the masses; it can sometimes move people to do crazy, sometimes dangerous things.” Wow…at the time that sounded pretty extreme to an 18-yr old who was brought up as a SundaySchoolEveryWeek girl. The other person was the wife of arguably the best-known clergyman in Raleigh during the last half of the 20th century. I think it was right after 9/11/01, she said something to the effect that she and her husband thought too many people went way overboard with religion and should practice all things in moderation. As I said, I’m just passing along someone else’s words that made an impression on me. I surely don’t envy you parents out there who are getting hit with these questions.

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  April 21, 2013

    I think we have to look at the faith we choose in terms of how it tells us to treat people in this world in which we live. It seems to me that a God who encourages us to treat our neighbors as we would like to be treated brings about a better world than one who tells us to destroy everyone who does not agree with us. Throughout history we have used religion at times to accomplish something that was in our own interest, not God’s interest. I’m afraid that we humans often get it wrong when we try to speak for God. Thank heavens, sometimes we don’t.

    Reply
  3. Susan Disher

     /  April 23, 2013

    There is a quote from a grieving mother that touched my being while enduring a great loss…
    “I don’t know why she is gone, but I do know WHO had the final say, and because I know WHO…I am willfully unconcerned with WHY.” This was a small step towards healing for me…and I have learned in other challenges to come back and reread…the need to focus on the WHO not the WHY. Wonderstruck author Margaret Feinberg writes… “In the life storms that caught me unaware, God remained all knowing. In that which took my breath away, God whispered ‘keep breathing’. In the holy hush of his presence, God meet me.” When the WHY remains unanswered and the problem doesn’t budge…listen to the WHO…he never stumbles…sees every tear…hears every groan and never stays away. My anchor is set on the WHO and I am willfully unconcerned with the WHY…
    Thank you for you honesty and transparency of your writings…

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  April 24, 2013

      That – that is a strong faith. I wish I could always be that strong.

      Reply
      • Susan Disher

         /  April 25, 2013

        You are reaching for it…it is through the honest questioning that you meet the WHO…in the face questions that you don’t want anyone else to hear…it is a journey and a process and is lousy timing and slippery and necessary…it is what gets me up in the mornings after 7 years… and the WHO is never ending or failing…know that we are cheering along the sidelines…just a little bit ahead…

  4. Carolanne

     /  May 1, 2013

    I wish I could be that strong as well. It’s still a difficult thing to explain to your children. I remember when we could go outside and roam all over the neighborhood without fear of being abducted or harmed in some way. It’s become a dangerous world out there. But at the same time, you can’t constantly “hover” or wrap them in cotton or bubble wrap, to keep them safe. You have to tell them the truth, that there are bad people everywhere and not everyone is nice or should be trusted. And pray. A lot. Love you, my friend.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  May 2, 2013

      Yea. I think you’re right. I just wish we didn’t have to use our worry space for that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

