Sunday Post 123: 97.6% Sure

I run into folks who have the faith of a giant.  No doubts whatsoever.  100% sure.  They are as convinced that there is a heaven as they are that there is mustard in their refridgerator.  It’s remarkable to watch.

Me, I believe too.  But I’ll have to say, at times, a little doubt creeps into the corner of my mind.  A little gnawing question passes through my cerebrum, “What if there isn’t a heaven?  What if you’re wrong?”

It’s generally fleeting, but it leaves enough of an impression that at times it gets me down.

Why in the heck didn’t God create a large bay window between heaven and earth?  If I could see all of my friends and family there, it’d be so much easier.

If your kid goes to overnight camp, you still get letters – you can see their picture on the camps’ online photo site.  You know you’ll see them again in a few weeks.

Why can we have Instagram with people in heaven?  Perhaps a Facebook page with ongoing updates from life up there.

I’ve got some great ideas.  If I get up there, I’m gonna make some serious suggestions.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Wayne

     /  June 23, 2013

    We all have doubts but here’s my philosophy. As a minister I’ve spent my whole life talking about God and related subjects. I’ve made great plans for going to heaven but to cover the remaining 2.4% of doubt I’ve taken this approach. If I get to the end and discover that there it has all been a myth, I’ve still lived my life living by principles which have long since been proven to be a life style that brings good to the world and happiness, kindness and love to people. I feel like I’ve added to the world and to people’s lives and not taken from them. You can’t go wrong with that!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  June 24, 2013

      And, imagine living with absolutely no hope or faith! What a downer.

      Reply
  2. Sometimes I’m not even sure if there’s mustard in the refrigerator. But I sure hope so.

    Reply
  3. Landers

     /  June 23, 2013

    I’m voting for Skype!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Unfortunately there can be a difference between knowing and feeling. I think that maybe the people that pass off their assurance so well are speaking from knowledge rather than feeling. We are all human and I am pretty sure we all have our doubts sometimes 😦

    Reply
  5. Annette Heath

     /  June 23, 2013

    Blessed are they who have not seen and yet they have believed….
    When my darling Mother was dying and I was close to her face, she asked me “why is the ceiling full of angels?”. I am so sure they had come for her. If anyone ever went straight to Heaven, it was my Mother.

    Reply
  6. caringsoul

     /  June 23, 2013

    I often I have doubts myself.You aren’t alone.

    Reply
  7. Helene Domi

     /  June 23, 2013

    Sign me up to follow the Heaven Instagram account. I am ALL IN for that.
    I lost my mom, who was my best friend, last year. I am just an empty shell now. I pray that Jesus returns tomorrow and we won’t need Instagram.

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  June 24, 2013

      The empty shell feeling is what drives us to have even more hope. But don’t let yourself stay there too long.

      Reply
  8. So true. No one said it would be easy and once we accepted Christ we’d be friend requested by the big guy so that we could check on His FB page each day. I like this one:

    Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see (Hebrews 11:1)

    Big thanks to Uncle Jesse for tell me about your blog. I enjoy it and the stories about the Tanner family! 🙂

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  June 24, 2013

      Good verses. Easier to read than to act on! But isn’t that always the case?

      Reply
  9. I believe there is a heaven, and that I will one day see those I love and dearly miss. But there are so many things I don’t understand and no longer take for granted when it comes to my faith. I, too, wish there was such a thing as Skype with those we love who have gone on ahead. But, then, it would be so much harder each time to say goodbye, see ya later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

