Ballet on the Beach?

I’ve done a lot of things on the beach.

When the kids were younger, we’d spend hours and hours digging.  It didn’t matter what I was digging for, as long as I had a shovel in my hands, the girls were happy.

I remember making holes so big the entire family could sit in them – mom, dad, and all three kids.  We had sand-made chairs, couches and occasionally a table.  My kids would request bureaus and refrigerators.  “How about a Duncan Fife couch dad, like the one Great Grandma has?”  To them, there was nothing I couldn’t construct out of wet, salty sand.

“Dad, make the hole deeper!”

“Dad, the moat for the castle is too small.”

I felt like I was on a chain gang.  At the end of the day I’d take three Alleve and hit the sack by 8 pm.

This year was different.  The kids are older, spending more time on their own.  What they want to do now is sit in a chair and Instagram their friends all day.  My, how times have changed.  You know, I actually sort of miss the hard labor.

This year on the beach, I didn’t dig.  No, instead, Michelle spent one afternoon teaching me her ballet moves.  Naturally, DJ had her iPhone on the beach so was able to capture the moment for posterity’s sake.

 

As long as they keep asking, I’m pretty much up for anything!

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. This is a very sweet post. Your daughters are blessed to have you as their Father.

    Reply
  2. You are a great dad! Love this!

    Reply
  3. Ditto. You are a good and game father…and there’s nothing better than dancing on the beach. Happy Fourth of July to you and your family.

    Reply
  4. Wayne

     /  July 3, 2013

    Point your toe, sir. Point your toe!

    Reply
  5. I don’t know that many fathers who would do ballet moves with their daughter, especially in public, who would allow someone to film it and would go as far as to share it on the Internet. What a great dad you are!

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  July 5, 2013

      I didn’t know she was taping at first. She does that all the time!

      Reply
  6. Mom

     /  July 3, 2013

    Love the video! I, too, noticed the unpointed toe. It’s the little things.

    Reply
  7. Over My Shoulder

     /  July 6, 2013

    🙂

    Reply
  8. Pam Burnette

     /  July 9, 2013

    Hi, I have watched your family for years at the beach as your consistent neighbor next door. I have watched you teach the girls to ride their bikes and watched them grow up on this beach along with my own children. You are a great father and doing an awesome job. I am glad you continue to come back to the beach every year with your family. We all have a lot of memories here and certainly the recent ballet dance on the beach as well as our dance in life is all worth it as so well depicted in Garth Brooks song ” The Dance” Say hello to your family and your dear mother in law. Sincerely Pam

    Reply
    • Danny Tanner

       /  July 11, 2013

      I do miss Topsail! Back to work and back to life. I’ll tell Ann you said hello!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

