Sunday Post 135: Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

It seems like yesterday that I sang in Youth choir at my home church.  You didn’t have a have a great voice to participate, everyone got to go on the end of year choir trip – usually to Florida, and that was our goal.

All sixty or seventy of us would pile into a Snyder Memorial Baptist Church bus and head down I-95.  The air conditioner typically broke at South of the Border, two hours into our 20 hour round trip.  Whew, the smells we endured in that vehicle.

Mr. Haynes was our director, he seemed old at the time.  He was probably younger than than I am now.  Dang.

His son, John, was one of my best buds.

We’d stop in small churches in South Carolina and Georgia to perform, our khaki pants and navy polos spotty from our massive trips to the all you can eat Pizza Inn buffets.  How they made money with a bus full of high school boys is beyond me.  I swear Frankie Farve could eat 25 slices of thin crust pepperoni.

At the time, I didn’t see that I was getting anything out of the whole experience except a ride on Space Mountain and a chance to sit beside (and flirt with) a couple of really cute girls for a very long time.  But now I realize it was so much more.

One of the most valuable pieces I took from that experience is a love for old hymns.  Today when our organist cues one up, my entire being fills with the spirit.  Occasionally it even tops the sermon (sorry Ed).

This is one of my favorites:

 

 

Danny’s Book:  Laughter, Tears and Braids

http://www.amazon.com/Laughter-Tears-Braids-fathers-journey/dp/0989635902/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1378693324&sr=8-1&keywords=laughter+tears+and+braids

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Michele Barrows

     /  September 15, 2013

    Too precious!! My eyes teared up as soon as she started singing. I too treasure the old hymns and her voice is like an angel!! God Bless you all – I love your posts!!

    Reply
  2. Mel Ham

     /  September 15, 2013

    there are so many songs this day that put modern words to the old hymns that I spend more time trying to remember which hymn that was taken from…and the melody stays with me for days. I love the old hymns. I don’t know if our children will have that connection. In an effort to relate to our children we have modernized a lot of our music. But things are cyclic. Our youth choir sang Down to the river to pray at the beginning of the tree this year. May have been a new song for them, the modern spin, the harmonizing but the rest of us cried in that place where it puts us. Makes us right again some how. You are right. Cam is forced into submitting to do Choir. I hope that through my requirements he sees the benefit and remembers all of his times too. Love regardless Mel

    Reply
  3. Miriam

     /  September 15, 2013

    I love that song and that was a beautiful version. I grew up with the old hymns and I find it sad that so many churches have abandoned them. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  4. Reblogged this on SoshiTech.

    Reply
  5. Annette Heath

     /  September 15, 2013

    Thanks for reminding me of the old hymns. I grew up Catholic w/two Presbyterian Grandmothers in our house. (My mother converted after she married my Father.) Down the street from our house was the small Presbyterian church of my Grandmothers and Mother. Every evening to this day they play hymns from the church and the chimes go out for the whole neighborhood to enjoy….hymns like “The Old Rugged Cross”. My favorite to this day is “Fairest Lord Jesus”. Am anxiously awaiting your book Danny – should come next week. Congratulations! Wish I could hear you singing…..Annette

    Reply
  6. Cathy

     /  September 24, 2013

    I remember those bus rides well and the music is still my greatest connection for my Faith. My favorite old hymn will always be “Great is Thy Faithfulness” and I can see Mr. Haynes crooked smile grinning now in my mind as he would lead the congregation! I am forever grateful of being “made to go” to choir, Girls in Action, Youth Bible School, etc. I hope my children will appreciate it one day too. Love reading your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

