Sunday Post 143: Heather’s Story

I remember when we first learned that Lisa had cancer.  We didn’t have many answers, we simply knew it was a “large” tumor in the lower part of her colon.

I naturally assumed it was Stage IV.  I was right.  It had spread.

I tried to put on a good face, but in the back of my head I knew this was it.  A nurse friend of mine told me of Stage IV colon cancer patients who were beating the odds – 5, 8 years out.

“That’s not long enough!  What about year 9?  Do you know anyone who has survived 9 years??”

Literally every single month I hear of someone else who has been diagnosed with some form of this crappy disease.  Sometimes it seems beatable.  At other times, it just seems ominous.  But what I’ve found is that there is story after story after story of strong people who are kicking cancer’s ass!

While at Duke with Lisa, I ran into an old friend who has Stage IV esophageal cancer.  I said “HAS” – because he is still alive and well, it’s in remission, more than five years later.  It hasn’t been easy, but he’s doing really well!

Checkout this story:

Heather’s Story

Heather took names!  Her body did the unthinkable!  A death sentence?  Not for her – somehow her system responded to the medications and she is living, appreciating life like she never did before.

I haven’t yet met her, but one day I plan to. Part of her new life draws her to spread the word about cancers associated with asbestos – see the facts below.

Many of you are fighting – either yourselves or with those you love.  Cancer is NOT necessarily a death sentence.  There are victorious stories everywhere you turn.  Ha-le-lu-jah!!

Asbestos Facts

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Mesothelioma took someone I knew just a couple of days before melanoma took Adam. They really couldnt figure out where hed been exposed to asbestos, unless it was the summer he did construction work at Duke hospital. Horrid. He left three daughters and a fiance.

    Sheryl “Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.–Kierkegaard

    Reply
  2. mymomisstrongerthancancer

     /  January 4, 2014

    just came across this blog, you’re so right. we scare ourselves with the statistics looming all over the internet but we are people are we aren’t just numbers on paper. i just hope my mom can kick this cancer in the butt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

